We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Highland getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tain, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Daaseaton
1 review
“Perfect Highland getaway!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Superb place for a peaceful break, quiet village but superstore 5 minute drive away, flat excellent, access to beach ideal for dog walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thanks David was a pleasure to have you stay.
Pleased to have you back.
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hubby's birthday”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked in on Friday 11th March to a warm welcome and a cosy cottage. Lovely views from the back and excellent walks for the dog. John is very helpful if you need him. Tain is a lovely little place. The local pub is a great wee place and everyone very friendly. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie t
2 reviews
“Excellent, dog friendly little cottage.”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage offers everything you could need, great location, friendly owner, peace and quiet, wonderful views and surroundings. Very difficult to find dog friendly places to stay, so this is an excellent place to stay with an enclosed garden and gate through to wonderful walks along the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially dog friendliness.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thanks Valerie,
Great having you, glad you are enjoying your stay and will be pleased to have you back anytime. Remember, anything I can do to make your stay better, just ask.
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairem84
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hideaway...”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at John's for our last weekend before our little one arrives. We had a very warm welcome from John, who was a fantastic host. The flat was perfect size and we had easy access to the beach. Hopefully we'll be back with our dog and wee one in tow!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A9wark
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent host and amazing location”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The accommodation was comfortable and well furnished, with good facilities. Lovely, peaceful place to stay, beds and bedroom very comfortable. Nice bright,airy and clean living/kitchen space with modern shower room and toilet.
Very close to the beach and shops are in 10-15 driving. This place is for nature lovers , very quite, peaceful and relaxing. The morning run , dornach beach, distilleries, potteries and alot more. ..
The host is very considerate, caring and great person, it was pleasure meeting him.
Owner very friendly and welcoming and very helpful if needed. Whenever we are in the area again this is definitely the place we will rest our heads!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and host
Liked least: weather.......shouldn't complaivn its UK
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, excellent value, excellent host.”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed for 3 days with my dog. Communication with John before travelling was very straightforward and directions appreciated. Very friendly on arrival and on hand when needed but never intrusive. Wine, butter and milk in the fridge and a supply of morning rolls were supplied after a long journey from Norfolk which was a nice touch. A quick walk from the garden, through a field, took me to the beach. Accommodation very clean and comfortable, neighbours nice and John was excellent. I used this as a base to travel further north and over to the west but it was nice to see the nearby towns too. Very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clazy2015
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant accommodation; comfortable sofas and beds and beautiful location!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

An ideal base for beach, forest and woodland walks and great to come back to after a long day. We enjoyed the comfort of the sofas for evening dvd watching on the good sized, flat-screen TV and appreciated the easy access to the Internet and strong phone reception. The kitchen is way more spacious than it looks in the pictures, with a clear view across the Firth. The whole property was immaculately clean when we arrived. A five minute walk to the beach which goes on for miles was superb for walking our three Jack Russels. John was a really warm, relaxed and welcoming host, who had stocked up the kitchen with some basics and a bottle of wine and who was still smiling after our three Jacks took over his garden! Thanks John! Great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, wifi access
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing