We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Torridon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tigh an Eilean(Shieldaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochcarron Hotel(Lochcarron)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlochewe Hotel(Kinlochewe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Maree Hotel(Talladale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Hotel(Plockton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Inn(Plockton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
498
71
41
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
71
41
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomhunting lodgedining roomroll top bathluxury hotelsuperior roomfine dininghighland cattleclay pigeon shootingoutdoor activitiesstunning locationwhiskey bara hot water bottlemichelin starthe hotel offerspetit fourswonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent four days of our honeymoon at the Torridon and had an amazing time. The welcome we received was second to none and the level of hospitality and comfort exceeded our expectations. The food was sensational too. I would highly recommend the Torridon for a romantic visit. We'll be back as soon as we can! A perfect end to a perfect wedding and honeymoon

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We are delighted that we were able to help you enjoy the end of your honeymoon, and we are glad that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you get a chance to visit Torridon.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The owners couple is very friendly and helpfull.Rooms are very clean and beautiful.we will stay again, because this is what scotish friendliness means.The dinner at the hotel was great, even in the torridon inn the dinner was great.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms, every room is a very good room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon.
Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Torridon Hotel was a pleasure from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

On my previous trip to Torridon in about 1993, The Hotel was being replenshed and I stayed at a B&D in the vicinity. The clouds were low and visibility of the marvelous scenery was strictly limited.

This time my experience to Torridon was a joy. We drove down in perfect sunshine with hardly a cloud in the sky. I just wanted to stop and get out and climb as we passed each inviting mountain. It was just one of those fantastic days you pray for, and when they come you have to savour every minute.

We arrived at The Torridon Hotel in the late afternoon and from the moment we arrived we enjoyed the fantastic service. The staff were all friendly. We enjoyed their well polished service, but getting over the formalities they were also very friendly with wonderful stories to tell.

The room was perfect. Well furnished with a very comfortable bed. We stayed in the luxurious room so we had a lovely view of the loch and the mountains. Maybe more enjoyable was the view of the hotels resident Highland Cattle in the field nearby. The coffee and tea making facilities offered more choices than I've seen anywhere.

There is a living room with a fantastic view and open fireplace. Here you can enjoy afternoon tea. It is here also that your evening dining experience will begin where you can review the menu and make your selection while enjoying a pre-dinner drink. The dinner is excellent and every dish is a joy.

The hotel also has an inn if you are looking for a less formal eating experience. It looked very welcoming but we did not try it.

The hotel provides activities and provided detailed maps and descriptions of many walks which are available in the area. The walks are rated from easy to hard and times vary depending on your preference. We headed into the hills to work off some of the calories.

The hotel also has one of the best stocked whiskey bars in the world. There are over 350 whiskeys available. They had some Japanese whiskeys and even an Indian whiskey (Amarut), but these seemed to have collected more dust than the more local varieties.

This was a great place to stay for a few days and we were totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAWASAWA_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Torridon and that after your 18 year wait to stay in the Hotel it lived up to your expectations.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food, and your whole Torridon experience.

We hope that you will return to The Torridon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I just stayed for 2 nights following our wedding. Everything was just perfect from the moment we arrived to leaving. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel out towards Loch Torridon, the view of which was spectacular. The decor was modern in design and the room large and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and the menu was varied and delicious, the service was impeccable.

We found the staff to both friendly and attentive without being overbearing, and we will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyakasha_2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay at The Torridon, I hope that in years to come you will return for a wedding anniversary and fondly remember your time here.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Torridon.

Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Visited on 15th September with friends, fantastic evening with the most amazing food, no shortage of attention to detail and the staff serving the food were very knowledgeable - this hotel is in the most stunning setting with adorable "Heelan Coos" and guaranteed tranquility, would love to stay here for a special occasion. 11 out of 10 !!!!!! Spectacular whisky bar !!!!!! My husband would like to return to try them all out at some point!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel and enjoyed the whisky bar; we look forward to having you back to sample some more of our malts.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews