We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This review is a case of better late than never!

We first stayed in The Torridon for our Honeymoon in 2003. As we left, we jokingly promised ourselves that we would be back every year.

So far, we have managed to keep that promise.

We can not fault anything, the setting is magical, the food and service throughout the hotel is superb.
Each year everything seems to get better and better and the new menu works very well.
It was always a dilemma as whether or not to go for the cheese board or another option for dessert, now you can have both.

We have two young children, who are also made to feel very welcome. We have stayed at different times of the year and have never had a problem keeping our childen amused.
The only problem we do have is trying to explain why we can't have a Highland Cow as a pet!!

Unfortunately, due to work requirements, this will be this first year that we will not be able to visit The Torridon, so might just have to stay twice next year to make up for it!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank caward0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Thank you very much for the generous review. We are so pleased to live up to your expectations and that you like the changes and improvements that we have made over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back, twice next year, and you never know we might even have a cow to sell to you.

Regards, Daniel & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    61
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
398
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

There are always two problems with reading glowing reviews of a hotel on Trip Advisor – the first is whether it can ever match up to expectations; the other is that if you add to the reviews, more people might want to go at the same time as you and grab your favourite room .

Well, I may need to bite the bullet here, and sing the praises of the Torridon anyway. It’s fab – honestly. We’ve just returned after staying for the Valentine’s weekend, and absolutely loved the place. The hotel has been beautifully restored, giving the impression of being the Victorian shooting lodge which was its original incarnation but with all mod cons. You feel like you are staying in a private and very luxurious home.

Our room (exactly which to be kept secret!) was gorgeous, overlooking the loch with the most fantastic bathroom. Housekeeping staff visited twice daily keeping everything immaculate, and putting a hot water bottle in the bed during dinner. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and I’d have been quite happy staying there all morning.

The food at breakfast and dinner was superb, a fairly limited menu but really well balanced. We’re hoping to return in the summer and try some of the fresh vegetables grown in the extensive kitchen garden. Chef is committed to using local produce, and the menu reflects this.

Finally the best bit, the staff. A fairly young team, but very well trained, and with an attitude where it was obvious that nothing was too much trouble. A particular star was the unflappable Colleen, front of house supervisor. It was obvious that the directors, Dan and Rohaise, who live on the estate, are very ‘hands on’ and this ensured everything was top class. The manager is also excellent.

Couldn’t recommend it highly enough – go there (but don’t book my room!)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
That is the sort of dilemma we like. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the weekend and that the little touches that we provide do get noticed. We all try hard especially Kevin and his team in the kitchen and Colleen and her team in looking after each and every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.

Regards, Daniel & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

My wife and were married at The Torridon two years ago and we stayed at the hotel on another occasion before that - it may seem strange that I should have taken so long to review but at this time of year the place is never far from my mind.

Staying at The Torridon is the ultimate in decadence - the food is just utterly fantastic, the staff can't do enough for you, the setting is stunning and the rooms are so luxurious. I would advise anyone to spend some time there - you will not regret it. We had the hotel exclusively for the whole weekend and were treated so very very well.

I cannot write anything negative about The Torridon - there is just nothing negative to say. It is so obvious that everyone involved puts so much hard work and effort into running the hotel and it really does pays off.

I am 37 years old - I have been to what feels like countless weddings as had our guest on the weekend of our wedding - but still, after two years people tell me that it was the best wedding they have ever been to - The Torridon has to take the credit for that.

The Mandarin Oriental in Kuala Lumpur was voted one of the best hotels in the world on here - I have stayed there and yes it is a fantastic place, and yes I may not be comparing 'like with like' - but it just cant compete with The Torridon.

  • Liked — The utter luxury
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We chose to stay at the Torridon for the 3 day Christmas package after much deliberation between staying there or at the 5* Cameron House Hotel on Loch Lomond. We were swayed by the fact that the Torridon was a smaller, family run hotel and we therefore hoped that we would be treated more like part of the family, (which is to us was important being a very long way from home at what is usually a very heavily family orientated time of the year). Boy were we right, from the minute we arrived we felt as though we were extremely welcome. There quite a few guests staying at the hotel who return year on year and it was very nice to see the relationship between them and the hotel staff who had all become good friends.

We were shown to our room which had its Christmas tree with fairy lights all set-up and was a really lovely festive touch . The room was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in (I have in fact purchased all the linen that the hotel use from the place they source it from since my return as it was sooo good).

We then met our fellow guests and staff for afternoon tea which was really friendly and a good opportunity to get to know people. The food served set the standard for the rest of our stay and was delicious, fresh, of great quality and presented superbly. We have been lucky enough to eat in many top London restaurants and can therefore be quite picky when it comes to the quality of food, but not here, everything was amazing and exceeded our expectations of what you might expect in a rural hotel. The wine choices and obviously the whisky were fantastic too.

Christmas Day was one of the best I have had in a long time without all the stress of the preparation and cleaning up that is usually involved. It was bliss to wake up in a beautiful room with a stunning view of the mountains, unwrap our presents under the tree and head down for a full cooked breakfast and then head out for a brisk walk to work off the calories in such a beautiful location with the other guests. We then returned back in time for a leisurely warm bath and got dressed-up and ready for Christmas Lunch. We arrived at our table to find a lovely generous gift from the owners of the hotel and a fantastic lunch with beautifully tender turkey and the juciest most delicious Christmas pud ever. It was then time to retire to the hotel bar with other guests to relax and sample some local whiskeys and enjoy the rest of the evening, all in all a perfect day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff are very happy, friendly and are thoroughly passionate about what they do. Staying at this hotel feels like staying with family and nothing was too much trouble, we felt truly spoiled throughout our stay and can't wait to go back.

Unfortunately I can't say the same of Cameron House where we ended up staying for a couple of nights on our way back home. It felt like a very overcrowded machine run place after being somewhere much more intimate - the food and service were a mile off the standard we had become accustomed to at the Torridon and the local scenery was flat in comparison too.

  • Liked — Great food, service and stunning location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tifa710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, 16 January 2009
It was a real pleasure to have you to stay with us over the Christmas period. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service and the atmosphere. It is a special time of year for everyone and it is really important to us that you relax and enjoy yourselves. Hopefully see you again.

Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Other family members had visited earlier this year and spoke very highly of this hotel. We decided to take advantage of a late booking offer to have a holiday period two-night break.
Welcome at reception was pleasant and set the tone for staff throughout our stay - efficient, pleasant but unobtrusive.
Bedroom, just the standard offering, roomy enough, clean and comfortable with the hot-water bottle in the bed at night a nice touch. In the restaurant the menu, while not expansive, provided sufficient choice and requests for alternatives to the stated courses were willingly met. Several of the other guests we spoke to were on return visits, it is that sort of place. Expensive, but perhaps not overly so for what is on offer.

  • Liked — Pleasant, professional staff, spectacular location, absolute relaxation in comfort.
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Palodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, 30 December 2008
Thank you very much for the kind review and we are so glad that me met your expectations and those of your family. Hopefully we will see you back here in the future. Regards, Daniel & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

we spent a 3 day break at the torridan over the festive period and had the most memorable stay.

ACCOMODATION
We booked room 1 which was the four poster facing onto the front of the hotel. The room was beautiful with a big bay window looking onto fields of highland cattle and loch torridan. The staff had set up a lovely xmas tree in the room and that coupled with reclining chairs and complimentry drams we were in seventh heaven. The bathroom was huge with a free standing bath in the middle of the room and also a large shower and plenty of molton brown toiltetries.

FOOD
all meals were provided over the 3 days, xmas eve xmas day and boxing day. The hotel was full though didnt feel crowded and we had the same table over the 3 days. The atmosphere was relaxed and everyone friendly. The food was second to none with a set menu offering 3 or 4 choices. xmas day was a feast and we even got gifts of whiskey glasses from the hotel.
Boxing day was breakfast and a buffet in the evening.The buffet was brilliant with fresh sea food, spit roast pig, beef etc etc.

Santa paid a visit on xmas day to feed the cattle and there was games laid on and a treasure hunt.

Overall the hotel is lovely beautiful grounds and plenty of walking, the food was 5 star as were the staff, the only small disappiontment was there was no live music on any night which would have been nice, we left very reluctantly but plan to return very soon.

  • Liked — 5 star
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelly1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

My wife and I have stayed at the Torridon twice. The most recent stay was for 4 nights in late October/early November 2008. On both occasions, we loved it.

The hotel is located at the head of Loch Torridon, with a beautiful outlook over the loch, and the mountains beyond (weather permitting!). Both times we stayed, we upgraded to rooms at the front, overlooking the loch, and I would certainly recommend doing this. The rooms we had on both occasions were very well set out, with good quality fittings and thoughtful little touches like sherry, if you felt like one before dinner.

The public rooms - hall, library, lounge, dining room and bar - are again comfortable and well decorated. The fires in the hall and the lounge were very welcome when we were there in October/November. The bar has an astonishingly good collection of single malt whiskies (and I speak as a Scot and whisky lover!).

The staff are pretty young as a group, but I was impressed by them. They seem to have the balance between friendliness and professionalism pretty near to ideal - something which is very difficult to achieve, in my opinion.

The food is outstanding, and well worthy of the awards it has regularly been winning. You should know that, at present, the dinner menu does not have many choices - usually only two main courses, for example (different ones each day). However, both my wife and I are moderately choosy eaters, and we always found something we thoroughly enjoyed. Given how helpful the staff were, I’m pretty sure that they could have rustled up something else if you really didn’t like the choices –although, in fairness, I never needed to try this.

So, the location, rooms, staff and food are all high quality - what else is there to comment on ? Well, if you are being picky, then you occasionally do hear some noise from other rooms. However, this was never a real problem for me, and I am normally quite easily disturbed by that sort of thing. Also, you should know that you really are on your own here. The nearest shops that I know of are about 10 miles away, never mind anywhere else to eat. The nearest ATM is something like 20 miles away ! If you stay at Torridon, you will be totally dependent on the hotel.

However, that isn't a problem. I have gone to the Torridon for a relaxing time with my wife in a comfortable, luxurious hotel with high quality service, and it hit the spot each time. I can honestly recommend it as one of the best hotels of its type that I have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Quality of all aspects
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Property: The Torridon
Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing