We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel with friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torridon Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The building is clean, spacious, quiet, and set in a stunning location. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. The kitchen area was immaculately clean, and very well equipped. Pay a bit more and have the privacy of your own room. Very good value.
Indoor cycle store

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Torridon Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Over the years, I've stayed in probably 15+ hostels throughout the world. This one is the best of them. The building is clean, spacious, quiet, and set in a stunning location. The reception staff were extremely professional and kind. The kitchen area was immaculately clean, and the other people staying at the time almost visibly showed equal respect to keeping it so. Our double-bed room gave us all the privacy you'd expect in a normal hotel, so the value for money factor was spot on. The only minus point for me were the beds: I'm 6ft2, and the beds simply didn't accommodate me. Otherwise: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenceFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the hostel. All I can say is if you thought youth hostel accommodation was pretty basic with little or no privacy then think again. We happened apon the hostel after a long journey via 3 hotels trying to find food and suitable accommodation. The first hotel which we had booked in Gairloch was to say the least a big disapointment, with no meals available after 7.30 us having arrived just after 7pm it was a chinese carry out or nothing so we declined our booking and headed back to Kinlochewe. We arrived at 8.15pm to be told the meals stopped at 8pm. We tried the cafe down the road which was also closed so no food to be had here either. Headed to Torridon to the Inn which serves until 9pm, great so decided to see if they could put us and our 2 dogs up, but the only dog friendly room they have was booked. Got take away fish and chips and was almost resigned to sleeping in the vehicle with the dogs but thought we may as well try the hostel.
The other reports say it all and discribe the facilities. Emily made us more than welcome and the dogs, they are allowing dogs on a trial period check if going to allow in the future when you book.
Had a clean, warm, comfortable room with 4 bunks to ourselves at half the cost of a hotel for that area, you can eat, sleep and drink whenever you like, very informal laid back feel. All I can say is give it a try if you are planning a trip to the area you will not be dissapointed. A BIG thank you to Emily and Jules, we look forward to our next stay with you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here over about 10 years and it is still great when you want a trip away on a budget . Very welcoming , amazing location,great lay out of hostel. reasonable pricing, fab home made ready meals too! You can book a dorm for the family and take your well behaved dog too! Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: nice pub not far for the odd nightcap! great walks nearby.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayneychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hostel is exceptional and much of the credit lies with the warden. We enjoyed a friendly welcome from Matt who is making real efforts to improve the place. I think he sees this as a continuing task although improvements required are fairly minor. The setting in the Torridon mountains is quite unique and there is plenty of variety in the walking available to suit all abilities. A must visit in the North West of Scotland. You won't be disappointed and if you are well you must be awfie hard to please!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed at SYHA Torridon on a Saturday night in early November and checked in when reception opened at 4pm. I was greeted by Mat who was very welcoming and had great advice on which mountains routes to tackle. The room was clean and spacious, a truly massive self catering kitchen with ajoining dining area and a brilliant lounge with great views across the valley to the moutnains. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here 2 nights when quiet in October and especially impressed by friendliness and helpfulness of the wardens Matt and Emily. Feels like a uni hall of residence with lots of light airy space, modern facilities and very clean. Large clean bathrooms, huhe kitchen and and 2 lounges - large one with sofas and TV at the front and smaller one to rear for quiet reading. . 8 beds in my dorm but plenty of room - a few seats and plenty of lockers. Campsite next door. Torridon Inn (nearest pub) good for food and real ale but 1.5 miles away. The hostel's wee breakfast at £4.95 - continental with basic cereals, yogurt, orange juice, tea/coffee, bread roll, bread/toast, jams, cheese and ham is good. Lots of keen walkers and mtbikers staying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noryorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
1.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
605 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
212 reviews
13.4 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torridon Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torridon Youth Hostel

Address: Torridon IV22 2EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Torridon
Price Range: £23 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torridon boasts some of the finest mountain scenery in Europe. Situated at the head of Upper Loch Torridon in the shadow of the mighty Liathach, and only a stone's throw from Upper Loch Torridon, Torridon Youth Hostel is a great option for walkers and climbers as well as those simply wishing to relax and enjoy the wildlife. Torridon Youth Hostel is purpose built and offers modern, practical facilities for outdoor enthusiasts and visiting groups looking for budget accommodation. There is a spacious self-catering kitchen, two large panoramic lounges, a drying room and a good range of multi-shared rooms and private/family rooms. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torridon Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torridon Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing