We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Torridon(Torridon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
179
158
59
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
158
59
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor activitiesthe main hotelloft roomexpensive hotelmountain bikingmotel stylespectacular sceneryhighland cowsaverage foodthe pubfish and chipsstayed for nightsfabulous locationsalmonfine diningstayed longerfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed recently in very well appointed bedrooms in our case on the ground floor, with our car parked just outside. Very comfortable with everything we needed I would definitely recommend and go back. We also took advantage of the excellent dinner in the hotel one night and also had a very good dinner in the inn and enjoyed the cask ales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A small B&B located in beautiful Scottish highlands. We stayed in the “Triple Room” which was clean and spacious. Shower/bath was roomy. Be aware the hotel uses “peat” for filtering water which colors the water a light orange color. It is still safe to drink.
The included breakfast was very good quality, but the service was just OK. They seemed to be understaffed.
There are lots of things to do in the area, including hiking, mountain biking, shooting, sailing…etc (see hotel website). If you stay at the main hotel, which is more expensive, many of the activities are included in the room rate.
Book in advance for dinner as restaurant space is limited and there aren’t many other places immediately close by. Food quality was good but pricey.

One night we had dinner at the main hotel. It was a set 5 course menu. The service was very old British like. Food quality was good but gourmet style dishes, so eat lots of bread to fill up!! Wine selection was better and the whiskey bar was outrageous. At 55 pounds per person, too pricey.

Love the area, like the Inn but did not enjoy the slow service at the Inn nor the “trying too hard to please” service at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your review.It would appear generally that you enjoyed your stay (4/5) and we appreciate the constructive comments.

The water is not 'peat' filtered but comes directly off the hill. The water that drains off the mountains comes through the peat and is collected in a reservoir. This is then filtered and uv treated and as you say is perfectly safe to drink. It can look a little disconcerting when running a bath but I can assure you it is perfectly safe.

I have responded separately to the hotel restaurant review that you made.

We will try and get the balance of service correct as at the hotel it was too much and at the Inn not enough for you; it can be a very subjective experience.

Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed one night at the Inn. Good clean rooms if not totally modern but ensuite was massive.
Exclt food with really friendly service and a great selection I'd beers.
Would def return and also recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teearr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Manager at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for the review. All our bedrooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished and we continue to make improvements. Great to see you enjoyed the food, service and beers! Thanks for recommending, Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Inn is friendly and welcoming, with posh pub food in good quantity. The bar is well stocked and staff more than willing to help. Top tip, if you have booked a table in the neighbouring hotel for dinner, don't bother, stay and at the inn. Far less pretentious with far friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. I have responded to your review of the Torridon Restaurant separately. It was a shame you did not enjoy that experience but good that the Torridon Inn exceeded your expectations. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I so wanted to write a right up there review. The design is great, the staff were friendly, the food spot on, especially after a long walk on the hills and the location is superb. So what's the issue? - the rooms, all nicely designed are lacking sound insulation and are a little damp. So if you can go to sleep listening to someone showering in the room above, well OK. As for the damp, well allowing your guests to turn on the radiators might help a bit - I get heating is expensive but the Scottish Highands in the summer are not immune fom rain and mist or even cold. And lastly, breakfast - several days running the buffet was a desert - no juice, no milk, piles of opened and empty packets, uncleared tables and staff ignoring you while they finished chatting to each other. In short, this is a potentially great place but it needs some proper management. I really, really, hope they fix it. This should be a real advert for what Scotand can offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnehandEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but accept your review is a balanced review on reflection. Breakfast service should not be the experience you had and the buffet should be full and the service friendly and efficient. The manager at the Inn has recognised the problem and has put in place a new system for the staff at breakfast.
The accoustics in two of our rooms is being looked into and when the season slows we will be adding sound proofing into these rooms to alleviate this problem.
The heating is from a newly installed district biomass heating network. The system is automatic and has a weather compensating module that regulates the thermostats according to the outside temperature. We have recongnised that there can be an issue when it is warm outside but wet and drizzle means people feel colder and also want to dry their kit. We do have a drying room for guests to use. The more we use the system the more we will understand it and make sure it meets the needs of our guests. Thank you for your constructive criticism and we will try to do better. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews