We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Torridon(Torridon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlochewe Hotel(Kinlochewe)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
179
158
59
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
158
59
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor activitiesthe main hotelloft roomexpensive hotelmountain bikingmotel stylespectacular sceneryhighland cowsaverage foodthe pubfish and chipsstayed for nightsfabulous locationsalmonfine diningstayed longerfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staying for one night, the inn was perfectly located for me to get to the start line of a cycling event 12-15 miles away. And it also served the perfect purpose of providing a comfortable place to stay beforehand, with a decent hearty breakfast to send me on my way (and a good meal the night before, but I'll put a separate review in the restaurant section for that).

We were staying in Room 31, which was a decent size, with a small-ish double bed, and a single bed. Both were incredibly soft, which isn't my choice, but you're never going to cater for ever individual's personal bed-softness preference. One thing to bear in mind though, if you're over 6 feet tall you will hand over the end of the beds. I'm 6'3", but my ankles are used to staying places where they overhang... The room was clean, as was the bathroom, though again for tall people this particular room has the shower placed over the bath, which is under a sloping ceiling, so there was a bit of crouching going on to get freshened up in the morning. Oh, and the walls are quite thin...

But. It just felt really welcoming, and at breakfast the following morning the hot choice was wide (in the end the bike ride dictated a massive bowl of porridge), with a decent cold spread from which to help yourself. The jams weren't quite ready, but the waitress sorted me out with a little jar with no fuss, and even later on obtained a piece of cling film for me (long story).

If you're hillwalking in the area I'd be hard-pushed to suggest somewhere more convenient to stay, and the welcome, combined with the clean rooms and good breakfast, all add up to a good rating. And if you 'are' walking, then the bar attached to the reception has a sign up saying muddy boots are welcome, so you don't have to worry about getting de-grimed before a refreshing pint (and there are some cracking local ales on offer).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the atmosphere and frienldy service. Regards Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed on 20 July with another couple, during a perfect spell of weather which enhanced the natural beauty of the area surrounding the Torridon Inn. The "excuse" for our trip was to see an old friend from Edinburgh who was performing along with his fellow band members that night, and we certainly had a great time. Arriving late after an afternoon at Inverewe Gardens we were given a very friendly welcome and enjoyed a couple of drinks outside before an excellent dinner. The menu was interesting, our choices were varied but each one was much appreciated - well cooked, well presented and served with a smile - what more could you want? Then followed a great night in the bar, with the music suitably accompanied by the draught beers and malt whiskies. Eventually we retired for the night to our very comfortable and clean rooms, and followed up in the morning with a leisurely breakfast - the full works - brilliant.
The Torridon Inn isn’t a first class hotel, although there is one around 100 yards away if that’s what you want - and are prepared to pay for. But what it does, it does well. So much so that next time we’ll spend at least two nights there and take the sting out of a 9 hour round trip from home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for longer next time. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a large room on the second floor. Leading up to the second floor was a very dirty hallway. Our room had bug guts smeared in the corners and had not been updated in a decade. The walls are very thin and I heard the staff "enjoying each others company" each night which kept us up. I absolutely loved the Torridon area but I would not stay at this Inn again. For the price, you could get a clean B&B with proper sound proofing between the rooms. The dinner at the hotel was good but did not merit the price. The cuisine in Scotland is absolutely fabulous and for half the price, you could get a better meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Otto-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We were obviously not for you and for that I am sorry. We do try and meet the expectations of all our guests and we failed with yourself. Sound proofing is an issue in an old building and we are taking measures to rectify this where we can. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed recently in very well appointed bedrooms in our case on the ground floor, with our car parked just outside. Very comfortable with everything we needed I would definitely recommend and go back. We also took advantage of the excellent dinner in the hotel one night and also had a very good dinner in the inn and enjoyed the cask ales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A small B&B located in beautiful Scottish highlands. We stayed in the “Triple Room” which was clean and spacious. Shower/bath was roomy. Be aware the hotel uses “peat” for filtering water which colors the water a light orange color. It is still safe to drink.
The included breakfast was very good quality, but the service was just OK. They seemed to be understaffed.
There are lots of things to do in the area, including hiking, mountain biking, shooting, sailing…etc (see hotel website). If you stay at the main hotel, which is more expensive, many of the activities are included in the room rate.
Book in advance for dinner as restaurant space is limited and there aren’t many other places immediately close by. Food quality was good but pricey.

One night we had dinner at the main hotel. It was a set 5 course menu. The service was very old British like. Food quality was good but gourmet style dishes, so eat lots of bread to fill up!! Wine selection was better and the whiskey bar was outrageous. At 55 pounds per person, too pricey.

Love the area, like the Inn but did not enjoy the slow service at the Inn nor the “trying too hard to please” service at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your review.It would appear generally that you enjoyed your stay (4/5) and we appreciate the constructive comments.

The water is not 'peat' filtered but comes directly off the hill. The water that drains off the mountains comes through the peat and is collected in a reservoir. This is then filtered and uv treated and as you say is perfectly safe to drink. It can look a little disconcerting when running a bath but I can assure you it is perfectly safe.

I have responded separately to the hotel restaurant review that you made.

We will try and get the balance of service correct as at the hotel it was too much and at the Inn not enough for you; it can be a very subjective experience.

Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews