We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and beautiful location”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Ground floor dog friendly room. Clean, spacious and modern. Tunnocks caramel log went down very well with a coffee after a walk in the grounds!
Good service and food in bar and restaurant.
Lovely walks in the grounds and amazing scenery.
Good info provided in room for local activities.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank loudonsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night en route to friends at Dundonnell. The a Torridon Inn is a pub with rooms and good food very close to the upmarket The Torridon hotel, in lovely loch side country.

We received a genuinely friendly welcome and had a pretty spacious bedroom with two double beds and good en suite. The beds were comfortable we slept well. Dinner in the pub was good, incredibly fresh fish, and reasonably priced wine list. The service was quick and friendly. We had a good cooked breakfast with a plentiful selection and good juices and breads and pastries. £110 B and B was good value, and we would stay again if on a short break, but for an extended stay would prefer The Torridon hotel for the extra luxury, space and facilities.

This was the first time we have experienced the peat discolouration of bath and tap water, a bit disconcerting for novices like us, but no issue once we understood it is the norm!!


Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jerseyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We made a last minute booking at the Torridon Inn whilst travelling Scotland on honeymoon. We had the only room left, a family room upstairs. Comfortable with nice touches of Tunnocks wafers and good tea/coffee in the room.

We arrived too late for dinner but enjoyed a few drams in the bar. The staff there, as elsewhere, were friendly, relaxed and welcoming. Breakfast the next day was very good, served in the dining room by helpful staff.

When booking, we spoke with the hotel reception (the Inn reception phone was busy) who confirmed the complimentary activities applied to the Inn as well as the Hotel, contrary to the website advice, so we did check and she went as far as completing the Inn booking and booking our activity - sea kayaking - at the same time.

Unfortunately the next day when we arrived for kayaking we found this was not the case and we had to pay £40 each. Not overpriced for two hours but would suggest the hotel ensure all staff are aware. We also paid a deposit whilst booking via the hotel (on the phone) which did not come up immediately when we checked out and had to be searched for on another system as we were billed the full amount.

All staff were very friendly whilst sorting out these issues but the communication/booking system between the hotel and Inn needs to be improved.

That said, we would stay again if in the area. The surrounding views and walks in the grounds are stunning and add the stay.

Room Tip: The stairs to family room are quite steep so check if that would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Inn is in the grounds of the hotel and a dog friendly alternative to the main hotel. We stayed for 2 nights last week. The rooms are basic but comfortable and we enjoyed some archery, clay pigeon shooting on the lawn along with walks around the grounds. We loved the bar within the inn, cosy, welcoming and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The family room (large double bed, plus bunk beds) had lots of room for our party of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We loved the generous hot drinks tray with its selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolates, and Tunnocks caramel wafers. The breakfast included in the room rate was generous too. We stayed for four nights and had dinner at the inn every night. The food was superb - a very appealing menu with the fresh seafood particularly good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful too.

We had booked sea kayaking with the activities centre (see separate review) and it was fabulous. The whole Torridon area is fantastic and this was a lovely base. We enjoyed walking around the property and saw amazing wildlife in the grounds, including a woodpecker at the bird table and an impressive stag outside the inn's courtyard. In summary, we loved the Torridon Inn and its staff and look forward to a return visit soon.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A keen traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We only had one night at Torridon, and the Inn seemed the more sensible option (the Hotel is considerably more expensive). We were really pleasantly surprised by the light, airy and large room we were given, and ate well in the simple Inn restaurant. Nice staff in the Inn, bar and restaurant, young, helpful, smiley. Lovely location for walks, will plan to return and spend more time here sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteratsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this stunning place The Torridon Inn. The room was exceptional, with all the facilities we needed and very spacious. The bathroom was big and very clean. There was a very big selection of tea sachets, along with coffees and hot chocolate, all organic, and a Tunnocks caramel bar left every day :-). The bed was very comfortable and we slept well every night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was brilliant. Great selection for breakfast too! It was the perfect stay for a bit of peace and quiet and breathtaking scenery. I wish we had stayed longer and would certainly go back again. Thankyou Torridon for a memorable holiday, can't wait to come back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
176 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
356 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
278 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range: £52 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing