We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house and stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben View

Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
A spacious home surrounded by beautiful countryside
Ben View and the Alligin river
Ben View from the south east corner of the garden
View from the garden, looking across Upper Loch Torridon
Outside dining against a stunning mountain backdrop
The exit from the sun room into the garden
Large grassed garden with croquet pitch
Looking West down the Loch
Kayaking on the Loch. Launched from the other side of the garden wall!!
Croquet anyone?
Sit back and absorb the incredible scenery of the local landscape from the sun room
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine in the Sun Room enjoying panoramic views of the loch
Spacious kitchen for casual dining
Large Rangemaster cooker
Double bedroom with newly refurbished ensuite bathroom.
Double bedroom with dual aspect windows offering stunning views of the Loch and Alligin
Light and airy twin room (2x3 ft beds) with Velux window.
Every window has a view, this is from the upstairs landing
Ben View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HeatherR5...
Evanton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Fantastic house and stunning location”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Ben View is a superb house in a fabulous location. It's very very spacious so even with 9 of us there to celebrate a birthday we all had plenty of room. The bedrooms are spacious clean and comfy, great bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen......lots of cookery books for those who like cooking !!
The lounge has plenty of comfy seating and an extensive array of fact and fiction books. Loads of board games and a great fireplace. There are toys for children.
The sun lounge has fantastic views of the Loch and mountains.....it's beautiful.
Although the weather didn't allow us to use the garden in summer it would be amazing. The garden is huge all laid to grass and nice outdoor seating area again with stunning views all around.
All in all it comes very highly recommended whether a family or a group of friends.
Book it.....you won't be disappointed I promise :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_g_9...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“excellent house and views”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very comfortable and spacious house with lots of living space (kitchen, massive living room, sun room, dining room).
Lovely location on shore of Loch Torridon - the views over the loch are stunning, We were fortunate enough to get decent weather even in October, so climbed Beinn Alligin one day (only about 3 miles away).
Recommended: a visit to the Gille Brighde restaurant in Lower Diabaig, and the coastal walk to Wester Alligin (details of both are available in information pack in house).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htsang
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a week here in September with my extended family, including a toddler. The house is spacious, clean, well-kitted out and comfortable. The house is in a beautiful location, and the views from the house are amazing. There is plenty to do indoors even when the weather isn't great. There is wifi, a well-stocked bookshelf, plenty of DVDs, board games and children's toys to choose from. It has a good sized kitchen with everything you will need. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joolsy284
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a fabulous week staying in Ben View. This is a wonderful holiday house - it is very spacious inside with lots of rooms. Everything is furnished to a high standard and it has all the amenities you could want. The bathrooms and showers were lovely and we particularly enjoyed the whirlpool bath after a day in the hills!
It was great to have a large dining room to eat in at the end of the day and the addition of the piano in the room made for some civilised dining!
The sun room at the back was just lovely and with the amazing views out the window you can happily spend a few hours just enjoying the warmth and staring out the windows.
Would definitely recommend this house to anyone and I will be returning again when I can

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tentmaker...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfortable house with one of the best views in Scotland”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ben View is stunningly located on the shore of Loch Torridon with a panoramic view from the sun lounge that includes all six of the local Munros. At around 3500 sq ft the house comfortably accommodates ten people even if weather-bound at times by the challenging Highland climate! The amenities include a well stocked library, DVDs and indoor and outdoor games and toys. The kitchen is homely and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The remoteness was a positive for us but would not suit some people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotChip1
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house surrounded by magnificent scenery.”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as a group of ten family members and the house was lovely, clean and spacious. The sun room looking out over Loch Torridon and the surrounding mountains was such a pleasure to relax in and the whole family had fun chilling or playing in the large south-facing garden. We had young children with us but we were able to relax as the garden has a wall on all sides next to the Loch so there's no danger. A fantastic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The large garden looking out over Loch Torridon and the surrounding mountains.
Liked least: The midges :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location with fantastic views”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere big enough to house a group of friends for my husband's 40th birthday celebrations but also somewhere with character and where we could feel like we were really in the middle of the Scottish Highlands. This house does it all. From the initial enquiry, Claire could not have been more helpful. She was willing to be flexible with dates and welcomed our dog, who is a big part of our family and without her, the holiday just wouldn't have been the same. On arrival we were instantly happy. The house was spotless and it was just as it was in the photos. And then we walked through to the sunroom at the back of the house - wow! We weren't lucky with the weather unfortunately, but that didn't dampen our stay, we managed to do some great walks around and about, and made a day trip to Applecross which was just spectacular. However, I could quite easily have just sat in the sunroom taking in the view all day. The colours change constantly, each time you look away, then look back again you see things you didn't see before. Truly spectacular.
The house is easy to get to and the wee shop in Torridon is well stocked, although we did do a big shop in Inverness on the way up as had been recommended. It's a great wee spot to use as a base to visit lots of other places nearby and the wildlife around is truly spectacular, we saw deer, pinemartins, otters and even an eagle on the way back from Applecross!
The majority of our group were from England and they were blown away by the beauty and how suitable the houe was for us. I was proud to show off my country! We have all said that we want to return!
Thank you for a great holiday, my husband's 40th will be well remembered by everyone who was there!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing