We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben View

Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ben View, nestled between the beautiful Torridon mountains and stunning Loch Torridon
A spacious home surrounded by beautiful countryside
Ben View and the Alligin river
Ben View from the south east corner of the garden
View from the garden, looking across Upper Loch Torridon
Outside dining against a stunning mountain backdrop
The exit from the sun room into the garden
Large grassed garden with croquet pitch
Looking West down the Loch
Kayaking on the Loch. Launched from the other side of the garden wall!!
Croquet anyone?
Sit back and absorb the incredible scenery of the local landscape from the sun room
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine in the Sun Room enjoying panoramic views of the loch
Spacious kitchen for casual dining
Large Rangemaster cooker
Double bedroom with newly refurbished ensuite bathroom.
Double bedroom with dual aspect windows offering stunning views of the Loch and Alligin
Light and airy twin room (2x3 ft beds) with Velux window.
Every window has a view, this is from the upstairs landing
Ben View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Compass68...
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A fabulous house in a great location. Very well equipped with plenty of space. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic566...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spacious, warm, well furnished house in an amazing location by the sea shore of loch Torridon.”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Ben View is a lovely, large house set in an amazing location by the sea shore of loch Torridon. It is spacious and tastefully furnished, with big windows over looking exquisite views of the loch and mountains.The house is well equipped with everything we could need for our whole group, the bedrooms are comfortable and spacious with lovely beds and the bathrooms are bright and clean. We are looking forward to our next visit! Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate54321
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Fantastic house, amazing views throughout, spacious, all the equipment worked really well. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy T
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will remember this fabulous place forever and our perfect week.”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Nine of us spent a week in this beautiful, spacious well equipped house.Probably our best Scottish rental ever in an absolutely spectacular location.We enjoyed 3 days of superb winter weather-blue skies,sunshine and perfect snow conditions on the stunning Torridonian mountains.Our crampons and ice axes were well used.We spent the other not so good weather days on intriguing cliff, coast and beach walks and discovered some superb places.Ben View was a splendid place to return to after some challenging expeditions.The views from the sun room were out of this world, the beds comfortable and the kitchen excellent for making food for the nights we ate in.We would love to stay here again at some future date.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenW37...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in stunning location”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Spent a lovely week here in mid-August. The weather wasn't great but the fantastic house and beautiful location more than made up for it.

Location is great - a stile at the bottom of the garden leads directly onto the rocky shore of upper Loch Torridon. Our 3 year old daughter was happy to spend hours exploring there and playing in the huge garden. There's also a great tree swing just a short walk back up the drive which is great (midges aside).

The house is huge. There were only four of us staying but there could have been ten and it would not have felt crowded. Really well equipped too in terms of kitchen utensils etc. and a great selection of books and toys for the kids. Also a piano for a bit of additional entertainment.

As the other reviewers have said - the sun room is great for watching the ever-changing scenery and is where we spent the majority of our time when we were in the house.

In terms of eating out the Gille Brighde in Diabaig is fantastic - great food and friendly staff and our daughter loved the ice cream. The Coastal Kitchen is Shieldaig is also well worth of visit.

We'll definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillygill...
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Highland Family Home”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful highland family home!

we are just travelling home from an outstanding stay at Ben View, Inveralligin, Torridon.

We can't help feeling a little blue that we are leaving the peace, quiet, and outstanding beauty of this place.
The location is excellent perfectly centered between the village of torridon and the end of the "death road" st Diabaig.
Easy access to the superb beaches or Gairloch and Applecross,
So many things to see and do or perfect to do nothing at all but drink in the beautiful countryside.
Ben View has a large dining kitchen plus the more formal dining room.
Apeaceful sun room - where I admit to have spent most of my mornings looking out onto the changeable lochside.
A family lounge with open fire perfect for family evenings with a game or two or a DVD.

A large fridge freezer in the main kitchen and a large chest freezer and additional fridge in the garage means like us you can plan and take everything you need for 1-2 weeks and be sorted knowing most little things can be topped up from torridon stores.

Whilst visiting here pay a visit to Aart & Amanda at Gille Brigde , Lower Diabaig for a tasty meal or just coffee and cake. note if you fancy Sunday lunch it's worth booking in advance as they get booked up!
Don't miss out on the Deer Park at the end or beginning of the torridon road (near the turning for Kinlochewe) but don't forget the deer food from the national trust shop.
There is an abundance of wildlife to be seen - we viewed a group of porpoise swimming past the cottage visible from the sun room, herons, jelly fish,crabs, voles all seen around the cottage. unfortunately we didn't see a seal this time - fingers crossed for next time!
Take a drive along the road to Sheildaig and on to apple cross - these are some of the most dramatic coastal routes ! Take the different route back from apple cross along the road that is impassible in winters conditions you will get to the highest peak! Hold onto your hats there!
Take a trip to gairloch Beach or a boat trip too!
Give the turning left before you get to gairloch a try to and give The Badachro Inn a try for a meal or two, you will also find red point beach! We are assured that there is also a better beach if you park at red point and walk 30mins further !

The owner Claire keeps in good contact and even sent us a helpful reminder from across the pond for bin day!

Thank you so much for a wonderful week of memories we will never forget - until next year!

Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire18...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great House in an Exceptional Location”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the house is truly unbelievable. Loch Torridon is one of the most beautiful areas in Wester Ross. Inveralligin is probably less known than Shieldaig as most people don't take that turn at Torridon village, but it's definitely worth driving on that side of the Loch all the way to Diabaig.
The house is super spacious and well equipped, there's plenty of room for a large family. We enjoyed sitting in the sunroom very much, the views are stunning in all directions. We hope to be back some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing