We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Shetland 2013 the land of the Thick Billed Warbler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shetland Wildlife

Shetland Wildlife
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Sumburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 21 years of experience we are the No.1 choice for birding, mammal-watching, botanical, photographic & walking holidays in Shetland. We are also the only award-winning eco-tourism holiday business resident in Shetland. Visit us online - our site is packed with wild ideas and a choice of 40 wildlife-filled holidays. Day tours plus tailor-made & bespoke packages also arranged for individuals / groups plus boat trips, exclusive hide photography and wildlife sound recording. We also operate a portfolio of wildlife-watching and photography holidays overseas to Finland, Norway, France, Spain, Poland and Hungary. Fully Bonded by the CAA: ATOL 9151.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Shetland 2013 the land of the Thick Billed Warbler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've just returned from another memorable Shetland trip, enjoyed the company of fellow travellers, the banter and the expert guidance of Dave Fairhurst and not forgetting the boss Hugh Harrop! A wondeful fantastic venue for autumn bird migration. Shetland Wildlife are a client centred company, passionate about their love of nature and wildlife ensuring all group members see that bird, otter etc. Our highlight of this trip was the excitment of being part of the group who found the Thick Billed Warbler. Credit here goes to Dave and Hugh who id the bird, a memory which will stay with us forever. Shetland Wildlife is a well organised, professionally run company providing value for money birding and wildlfe holidays. We would throughly recommend Shetland Wildlife to anyone wishing to experience the Shetland Wildlife so much so we have booked for next year.
Robert and Sue

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of your 'Autumn Gold' week with us in September / October 2013. As Shetland's only award-winning eco-tourism holiday business, we take pride in the quality and all-round skills of our naturalist guides. We truly believe them to be the best in Shetland based on what our travellers and previous TripAdvisor reviewers write. I will certainly pass on your words to David who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to seeing you again in 2014 and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife for your holidays to Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Please, Sir, I want some more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

It is almost 15 years since our first trip with Shetland Wildlife and we keep coming back for more. We would not call ourselves wildlife experts, but each of our many visits has made us feel the equal of any TV pundit! The guides we have had have always been hugely experienced naturalists and excellent communicators who are keen to share their knowledge with us. The same can be said for our congenial travelling companions, some of whom have proved to be real experts themselves. During our trips we have seen spectacular seabird colonies; had close up views of otters and killer whales; learned to recognise many species that were unfamiliar to us and experienced the excitement of seeing rare migrants. On the way, we have gained an insight into the history and society of the remarkable Northern Isles which often seem to be more Scandinavian than Scottish. The mastermind behind everything is Hugh Harrop for whom nothing is too much trouble. His attention to detail and personal concern for your enjoyment ensure that everything runs smoothly, despite the serendipity of weather and wildlife, so that you feel that you are in the safe hands of a welcoming host. We have taken trips to Orkney in the Spring and to Shetland in Summer and Autumn and have just booked again for next year. Be warned, however, that if you travel with Shetland Wildlife you will probably find yourself coming back for more!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent trip to Shetland with us and indeed sharing your now many experiences of travelling with our company. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing, guides and customer service levels for our travellers and positive feedback such as yours makes us want to work even harder and harder. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shetland for what will hopefully be another memorable trip and thank you once again for continuing to choose Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider to Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Mega Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have just enjoyed another great trip with Shetland Wildlife (my second) and have already booked again for next year. During 2 weeks on the Shetland Autumn Gold and Fair Isle tour, I experienced once again both excellent guiding and excellent company, accompanied by like minded people who quickly became friends. I specifically picked this trip for the potential to see rarer birds and wasn't disappointed, seeing my first four "Mega" rarities (to use a term for any keen birders out there). It really was an exceptional trip, but even if you don't see any rare birds, don't worry. As one of my fellow travellers put it the highlight of the trip was "The Trip" itself. You are certainly well looked after by the whole team (particular thanks to Dave and Judd) and I have never previously experienced such a personal touch on holidays - the owner Hugh even turns up to help out in his own mini bus on occasions, and brought his family to the hotel for dinner one evening. Finally it's worth noting that Shetland Wildlife run a varirty of trips throughout the year suitable for all tastes and interests - so you may want to take a look at their website for more detail.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank naturewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing and customer service levels for our travellers and positive feedback such as yours makes us want to work even harder and harder! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shetland for what will hopefully be another memorable trip and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider to Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For wildlife on Shetland it must be Shetland Wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent a very stormy week on Shetland in January in the company of Hugh Harrop and the Shetland Wildlife team. Despite times of inclement weather Hugh was able to show us some incredible wildlife and scenery and the trip will remain long in the memory.

Highlights were close views of otters and cubs, seals, mountain hares in winter colours, a terrific variety of sea and freshwater birds. This culminated in views of a very rare visitor to Shetland, the Pine Grosbeak.

Our visit coincided with the annual fire festival "Up Helly Aa" and again Hugh's expertise and local knowledge put us in the right place and time for the best vantage points.

Hugh is a renowned wildlife photographer and we found him only too willing to share his skills and approach with us and we came away with some very pleasing photographs to remind us of our trip!

Hugh & Michelle and Jon showed incredible patience and kindness throughout and we came away feeling not so much that we had been looked after by a company as customers but that we had become friends and part of a wider community of travelers who have been blessed by Shetland Wildlife.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of travelling with Shetland Wildlife on our winter wildlife trip here in the far north! We are truly delighted to read your comments.Thank you also for contributing some of your fantastic images taken during the trip to our TripAdvisor photo album. It was a real pleasure to guide you and we sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality service with the personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's not just that Shetland Wildlife are a first-class wildlife company who provide a quality service from choosing a trip, booking and travel in small groups with expert guides. They are all that and more. It's also that Hugh and his team have a passion for ensuring that every single guest, whatever their level of expertise or interests, has an unforgettable trip. You will be taken to the best sites, see great birds and be so well looked after that you will want to repeat the whole experience! We have - many times! Thanks Jon for being a great guide on Fair Isle.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted you had another successful trip with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on another trip in the near future and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shetland Wildlife also viewed

 
Unst, Shetland Islands
 

Been to Shetland Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing