We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Autumn Gold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shetland Wildlife

Shetland Wildlife
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Sumburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 21 years of experience we are the No.1 choice for birding, mammal-watching, botanical, photographic & walking holidays in Shetland. We are also the only award-winning eco-tourism holiday business resident in Shetland. Visit us online - our site is packed with wild ideas and a choice of 40 wildlife-filled holidays. Day tours plus tailor-made & bespoke packages also arranged for individuals / groups plus boat trips, exclusive hide photography and wildlife sound recording. We also operate a portfolio of wildlife-watching and photography holidays overseas to Finland, Norway, France, Spain, Poland and Hungary. Fully Bonded by the CAA: ATOL 9151.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Autumn Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2014

This was our second Autumn migration trip after several summer visits. We are not expert birders but we have learned so much from our excellent guide and our knowledgeable travelling companions that we have made great progress in a short time! We have already booked again for both Summer and Autumn trips with Shetland Wildlife next year. We cannot fault the organisation, expertise, personal service and enthusiasm of all involved. Shetland is a magical place. Unst is a special island and the Baltasound Hotel makes a comfortable and welcoming base.

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted you had another successful trip with us. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing and customer service levels for our travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015 and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visitors from Surrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2014

Another excellent tour with Shetland Wildlife - Autumn Gold is a fantastic holiday. The guide ewas excellent - so much so we have booked again for next year. Full of useful information, working to make sure all guests got what they were looking for out of the holiday. The time on Unst at the Baltasound hotel was super and the flexibility to take the journey to see all birds that were around was what we have come to expect from Shetland Wildlife.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing and customer service levels for our travellers and positive feedback such as yours makes us want to work even harder and harder! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shetland for what will hopefully be another memorable trip and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider to Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Autumn Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2014

My third autumn visit and great birds as usual. First rate guides, friendly atmosphere, good hotels and food. Personal interest by owner in how tour was proceeding. Magic, I will be back!

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing and customer service levels for our travellers and positive feedback such as yours makes us want to work even harder and harder! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shetland for what will hopefully be another memorable trip and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider to Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Week holiday with Shetland Wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2014

We have returned from a week holiday with Shetland Wildlife.
The holiday was most enjoyable, hotels used very good with expellant food & service.
From the greeting at the airport to the last morning the service by the Shetland Wildlife Team was First Class. Everyday they gave really good service, information on the birds we were watching & we were taken to the very best locations to view the migrating birds.
Our guide was very knowledgeable on all aspects of wildlife on the Shetlands. He went out of his way to accommodate everybody's needs each day. The whole team made our holiday a great experience.
Would highly recommend them to people who are really keen to learn & discover the wildlife on Shetlands. Packages dedicated to subjects to suit all tastes. Autumn Gold was our package & we could not have asked for more.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. It was a pleasure to introduce you to the wildlife that lives in the islands we call home! We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future and thank you once again for choosing to travel with Shetland Wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shetland magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Fair Isle and Shetland organised by Shetland Wildlife. This was my third trip with Shetland Wildlife and it certainly will not be my last - indeed I have booked again with them for a trip next year. I can highly recommend this company. All the arrangements were excellent and our guide was first class both in his knowledge of the birds and in looking after us at all times.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your trip with Shetland Wildlife. We are truly delighted to read your comments. Thank you also for contributing some of your fantastic images taken during your fortnight with us. We look forward to you travelling with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shetland Wildlife also viewed

 
Unst, Shetland Islands
 

Been to Shetland Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing