We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Infinite variety” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shetland Wildlife

Shetland Wildlife
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Sumburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 21 years of experience we are the No.1 choice for birding, mammal-watching, botanical, photographic & walking holidays in Shetland. We are also the only award-winning eco-tourism holiday business resident in Shetland. Visit us online - our site is packed with wild ideas and a choice of 40 wildlife-filled holidays. Day tours plus tailor-made & bespoke packages also arranged for individuals / groups plus boat trips, exclusive hide photography and wildlife sound recording. We also operate a portfolio of wildlife-watching and photography holidays overseas to Finland, Norway, France, Spain, Poland and Hungary. Fully Bonded by the CAA: ATOL 9151.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Infinite variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2015

This was our 4th or 5th experience of Ultimate Shetland. That in itself tells you what a fantastic experience it is. Each time has been so different in so many ways and each time we have learned more about wildlife. The trip provides intellectual stimulation as well as a feast for the senses: Shetland is a wild and beautiful place which will continue to haunt your memory. We cannot fault Hugh's organisation and attention to detail. He and those who work with him go out of their way to ensure that their travellers get the best out of their trip. If you are a birding novice, as we were when we took our first trip, this is an excellent way to gain confidence; if you are more knowledgeable, you are likely to see things which will delight and even surprise you. You may sometimes need woolly vests in June, but we also sat on the beach in shirt sleeves! Thank you to Hugh and his team, to the staff of Baltasound Hotel, Spiggie Hotel and to our jovial fellow travellers. We are already looking forward to our next visit for Autumn migration.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We strive to offer the best wildlife-viewing and customer service levels for our travellers and positive feedback such as yours makes us want to work even harder and harder! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shetland in Autumn 2015 for what will hopefully be another memorable trip and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider in Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ultimate Shetland June 2015”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015

Wonderful experience seeing the rugged countryside of the Shetland Islands and the many birds (over 60 species seen) and animals that live or visit there. Guides, Hugh Harrop and David Lindo, were extremely knowledgeable and keen to pass on their knowledge to novices and more experienced birders alike. Otters appearing within 10 minutes of our arrival on 2 separate days confirms the benefit of Hugh's local knowledge.
Accommodation is in small country hotels which are comfortable and provide good local food.
Daylight at 11 o'clock at night is a novel experience on mid-summers day!
Be prepared for variable weather even in the summer and to dress in several layers. Walking boots and waterproofs are essential. Binoculars and/or spotting scopes and cameras are vital to get close to all of the wildlife.
The organisation of the holiday is first class and all hotels, ferry crossings and excursions were pre-booked ensuring that all of the planned attractions were visited.
Highlights? So many! Puffins within a few metres and a midnight boat trip to Mousa to see storm petrels returning to their nesting sites were hard to beat.
We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone keen to experience some of Britain's wildlife at close quarters.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank EamonnMaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your trip with Shetland Wildlife. We are truly delighted to read your comments. Thank you also for contributing some of your fantastic images taken during the week with us. It was a pleasure to guide you and we look forward to you travelling with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing trip!! - Ultimate Shetland with David Lindo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015

From start to finish Shetland Wildlife was a pleasure to deal with. Easy booking process via online and telephone.

The knowledge and expertise of the guides (Hugh and David) was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. In fact this was the best organised wildlife trip I have ever been on. From the moment we landed in Shetland until we were dropped off a week later everything ran like clockwork.

The wildlife?? One word - Amazing! The variety of animals/birds we saw was truly astounding. My wife and I did consider doing this trip on our own and we are so glad we didn't as there is no way we would have seen so much had we gone alone.

Hugh not only ensured we got great views of the birds but was also on hand to offer photography advice which was extremely helpful.

If you are thinking of going to Shetland and have an interest in Birds/Wildlife, book this trip, you wont be disappointed

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Very many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you had an enjoyable trip with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on another trip in the near future and thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ultimate Shetland with David Lindo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2015

We spent a fantastic week watching wildlife with the expert guidance of David Lindo and Hugh Harrop. There were otters, seals and so many seabirds. A boat trip to Noss, the Puffins at Sunburgh Head and hearing drumming Snipe are memories that will stay with me. Well worth the effort to get there by train and ferry.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. It was a true pleasure to guide you and introduce you to the wildlife that lives in the islands we so proudly call home. Thank you once again for choosing Shetland Wildlife as your holiday provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate Shetland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2015

A wild life holiday that fulfills so many ambitions. Rare birds, "common" birds, mammals and flora. Fantastic time spent with knowledgeable guides, in hospitable hotels visiting some of Shetlands special places. We were rank amateurs at wildlife holidays and couldn't have been made more welcome by the guiding staff, but the rest of the group as well. Shetland is a dramatic landscape and well worth the effort of getting there! (Hint: talk to Hugh before you start to work out the route up there!) We both came away better informed, able to recognise birds that hitherto were LBJs, and even saw our first hedgehog in about 20 years. If you have only half a mind to do this trip, do it!

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Shetland Wildlife, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of travelling with Shetland Wildlife. It was a pleasure to guide you and introduce you to the wildlife that lives in the islands we call home! We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future and thank you once again for choosing to travel with Shetland Wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shetland Wildlife also viewed

 
Unst, Shetland Islands
 

Been to Shetland Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing