We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memorable Shetland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shetland Wildlife

Shetland Wildlife
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Sumburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 21 years of experience we are the No.1 choice for birding, mammal-watching, botanical, photographic & walking holidays in Shetland. We are also the only award-winning eco-tourism holiday business resident in Shetland. Visit us online - our site is packed with wild ideas and a choice of 40 wildlife-filled holidays. Day tours plus tailor-made & bespoke packages also arranged for individuals / groups plus boat trips, exclusive hide photography and wildlife sound recording. We also operate a portfolio of wildlife-watching and photography holidays overseas to Finland, Norway, France, Spain, Poland and Hungary. Fully Bonded by the CAA: ATOL 9151.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Shetland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Another great weeks birding with Shetland Wildlife guided by the excellent David Fairhurst .The Autumn Gold trip is the highlight of our birding year, well organised by the team at Shetland Wildlife ,staying in good hotels which provide quality cuisine . This was our fifth trip and what makes it special is the company of like minded birders whom over the years have become good friends.
Whilst there were plenty of birding highlights ,this year was special as we witnessed the northern lights a first for us and watching killer whales off Scatness doesn't get better than that. A memorable time thanks Hugh,Michelle,Dave and Judd, we've already booked for next year, can't wait.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Golden Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

We have been visiting Shetland for almost 20 years and have been clients of Shetland Wildlife for nearly as long. Not so much clients as friends now! Having seen the islands in Winter, Summer and Autumn we have come to love them thanks to the insights provided by Shetland Wildlife guides who still manage to take us to new places. For less experienced birders, the summer is a good way to learn about birds and their behaviour, for the experts there is the excitement of finding something new in Spring or Autumn. Then there is Up Helly Aa. Huw and his team go out of their way to ensure every client is well looked after and the organisation from start to finish is exceptional. The personal touch is a huge plus point. We shall be back next year again to enjoy the birding, the islands and the many friends we have made thanks to Shetland Wildlife!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Autumn Gold Shetland Wildlife 2016”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016

Once again another fantastic trip superbly organised by the team at Shetland Wildlife, is there any surprise i'm already booked for another of their Autumn Gold trips for next year!! (In fact i'm booked on 3 of their trips for next year!) The whole team really do make sure everything is organised perfectly for you to make your trip the best it can be, they go out of their way to ensure everything is just perfect. This year lots of rare birds were turning up on some of the remote islands but this wasn't a problem, Hugh and the guides would arrange for us to get there on the boats at short notice with ease. Bring on next year.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Gian-snowchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shetland Wildlife 2016”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We have just finished another super week with Shetland wildlife - no wonder we keep coming back! The weather has been superb and the trip as good as ever. The excellent guide who balanced the wants and needs of a diverse group made the experience one to remember with pleasure. The information flow to ensure we saw all there was to see excellent. Is it any wonder we are already booked to return again in 2017!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Autumn bird migration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

This was my 5th autumn trip with this company and it was excellent as usual. Many clients are, like me, returnees which speaks volumes for the quality of service this company provides. Knowledgeable guides who know the length and breadth of these islands and their ability to locate the rare birds present and make sure the clients are 'on to them' is remarkable. Great accommodation and food plus the company of like minder birders made this a special trip. Shetland is the place to be for rare birds in autumn and this company is tops. I'm back next year!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shetland Wildlife also viewed

 
Unst, Shetland Islands
 

Been to Shetland Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing