We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position is everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumburgh Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sumburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sumburgh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumburgh
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Position is everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Yes, the hotel is tired and in need of some TLC but the food is good and the service is friendly. The selling point has to be its position, close to the airport, Jarlshof and the RSPB reserve. The airport is small and therefore quiet and the 'planes do not disturb sleep. The Jarlshof site is two minutes from the front door. The RSPB site could easily be reached on foot. Buses go from outside the hotel to Lerwick so it is very conveniently positioned. I will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the wall to our room was thin and the person next door snored which detracted from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieEBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
15
61
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed one night as part of a coach tour and had a room upstairs in the extension at the back. The room was OK although the bathroom had liberal mould and peeling wallpaper and was overall a bit tired. We ate in the restaurant and the food was edible if somewhat dated in content and presentation. Overall the whole place could do with a modernising revamp. Reminded me of mainland seaside resorts 40 years ago. In this part of the island you are not exactly spoilt for choice to eat and stay so you are a bit stuck but it is very close to Jarlshof which is why most people are here. I would not recommend it if you don't have to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was made to feel that I had been done a huge favour by being accommodated at here. How wrong that was - I had a splendid view of the opposite wall, the ensuite was basic at best and the walls so thin that I could have joined in with the conversation in the next room. The food was stodgy and it took 3 requests for the after dinner coffee to be served at our table. If you can avoid staying here, do yourself a favour and go elsewhere. I have only raised this review above 'terrible' because the place was reasonably clean. I was travelling as part of a Brightwater holiday group.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sumburgh hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Travelled to the hotel by coach with Shearings.

On arrival we found our room was in the extension, with excellent views of a small harbour and looking on to the airport. The room was clean and had a large double bed, which proved to be vry comfortable (I slept well). The bathroom was a good size with excellent shower. The room was kept very clean over all our stay.

We found meal times leisurely and had time to digest food between courses. The meals were very well cooked and very tasty. One breakfast was a little light on content , but otherwise were satrisfactory in both taste and variety. The wine and alchohol prices were very reasonable.

The staff were friendly and efficient and this made for a very enjoyable visit to the islands.

I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Went to this hotel on a tour.
I think we had the same room as Mikehammer_10 The toenail clippings are still under the chair,
Black mould on wall, peeling wallpaper, could not see out of the window Clearly as the window had failed, Very disappointed not what we expected after looking on their website before we booked the tour.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is one of those hotels that has grown organically over the years so there must be a large variation in the rooms. The main hotel is a grand looking mansion. We had a room on the upper floor of a modern (1960’s?) block at the rear.

The room was a bit small and basic – the kettle plugged into its own small plastic shelf on a wall by the bed – and the bed was a pine frame. The walls were thin. Having said that, we had a perfect night’s uninterrupted sleep!

Breakfast and dinner were good, the staff friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is in an excellent location, right next to Jarlshof historic site and close to the airport and Sumburgh Head.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a group visiting archeological sites on Shetland and Orkney. It is an imposing building within sight of Jarlshof and a few minutes walk to the lovely, sandy beech but it is not enhanced by the addition of hideous, modern extensions. Our room (5) was on the ground floor in one of these and really more of a suite as there was a sitting room with TV, table and sofa at one end, a large bathroom with bath as well as shower in the middle, then a bedroom with a further TV at the far end. It was comfortable and clean and we were very happy to have a long, hot soak to warm us up.

Sumburgh airport is within sight too and at times there was quite a lot of aircraft noise during daytime.

The dining room was in another extension, so rather lacking in atmosphere. Breakfast was basic hotel stuff. Dinner for me was prawn cocktail, haddock in a nice sauce, followed by black forest gateau which had the most unpleasant texture so remained uneaten (haven't eaten food like that since the 1970s!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerehamFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumburgh
18.6 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumburgh Hotel

Property: Sumburgh Hotel
Address: Sumburgh Head, Sumburgh, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Sumburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumburgh
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Sumburgh Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing