We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bldg, worn down at the heels and toes and…”
Review of Sumburgh Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sumburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sumburgh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumburgh
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Beautiful bldg, worn down at the heels and toes and…”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel could so easily be exceptional, and at the price, it ought to be. It is in an amazing location and has the architectural features that make it instantly recognizable in the landscape.

That said, everything is worn to shoddy. The carpet is a bit threadbare. The wallpaper stained and moldy. (!) there is water damage to the plaster--the crown moldings could be so nice. The electric kettle in the room was just gross--brown. Had someone made coffee in the kettle? My personal bugaboo--squeeze bottles mounted to the wall. These things never work properly. At £85 a night come up with better product!

On the upside, the room could be made nice easily. The 4 poster bed is cool in a lace-covered /grandma way.

The restaurant is surprisingly not bad at all

Unless you have a 745 AM flight, stay elsewhere!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    71
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
16
68
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel is really good and clean. The room's are nice and big very comfortable we had a Family room it was great tea and coffee facility in the room. we were attending a wedding there and the buffet food was really first class good fresh the chefs did a great job something for everyone.There is a lounge bar and also a public which are very well stocked with good selection of whiskey fine for sitting looking out over Sumburgh head, The Jarlshof is just out side and there is plenty places to walk. The breakfast was really good great selection on the menu nothing was to much trouble would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for the airport and Sumburgh Head. Jarlshof is on the doorstep and there are beautiful sea views. It's clean and comfortable, tho the decor is a bit dated, and the staff were friendly. Breakfasts were very good, food in the evening more variable from good to poor. We had a room in the annex built on to the hotel and the bathroom was badly in need of refurbishment - patches of mould in the shower and on the bottom of the shower curtain, rust patches on the washbasin fitting and a faint squiffy smell. If you can, stay in the older main building where they seem to have refurbished the rooms.

Room Tip: bathroom in our annex room badly in need of a refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 'Shetland Ultimate Wildlife' week. We decided to upgrade our room beforehand and had a sea view large double in the main hotel. The room was a very nice size with a sofa, and plenty or room. It overlooked the field to the front then down to the shoreline. There were Shetland ponies and a foal in the fields and they were great to watch as they often decided to gallop around the fields. The décor is tired, but we were not that bothered by this, the room size and view were far more important. The room was clean and well serviced, fresh tea and coffee making facilities each day along with biscuits! We asked for a bath mat which was cheerfully provided at once.

The meals were reasonable, good decent food, nothing to write home about but plenty of it and reasonable choices. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and this more than made up for any tired décor. The hotel is also extremely convenient, you can be off your plane, checked in and birding on the shoreline in less than half an hour. I would happily stay here again, but would pay for the upgraded room. (we had room 31)

Room Tip: Worth paying for upgrade to get a great view and larger room (room 31 was excellent size and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquila.ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Sumburgh Hotel for a few days last week. I found it very comfortable, the food was good and the staff were extremely helpful. A very restful stay. It is set in a beautiful location, convenient both for the airport, they offer a free shuttle service (only 5 min away), Sumburgh Head bird reserve and right next to Jarlshof Broch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carry583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

While visiting the Shetlands we decided to visit the surrounding grounds and stop for lunch only to be told to hurry up and order then after a few seconds while we were looking at the menu the woman's sniped you can only have fish and chips or nothing so there were 5 of us so we decided to let it pass and have fish and chips as we were hungry so we sat down and had to wait a few mins to order drinks of which only 3 out of the 5 were brought to the table then when the meal arrived there were still 2 drinks missing so we asked about them only to be told yes ok in a snarl manner so yet again we let it go then there were 4 sweets ordered to which only 3 came out so we decided enough was enough and paid the bill (£96) by the way the woman thought we had all gone and turned round to a younger member of staff and said well they've been standing out there for ages of which we hadn't we had actually been round the grounds which you need to pay for in between serving fish and chips and the desserts when she came over to the table she was stinking of cigarette's which was enough to put anyone off there meal so I will tell anyone who will listen to give the sumburugh hotel a wide berth and steer well clear absolutely dreadful how we were treated there was no need all she had to say was I'm sorry we've stopped serving meals simple as that

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cal6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sumburgh hotels

Bielefeld, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at the Sumburgh Hotel for a week, and enjoyed the friendly hospitality and the very helpful staff. Food was great, no complains at all. Very good beds (always a good thing), but some minor maintenance work would be welcome.
Great surroundings!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumburgh
18.6 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
231 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
82 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumburgh Hotel

Property: Sumburgh Hotel
Address: Sumburgh Head, Sumburgh, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Sumburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumburgh
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Sumburgh Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing