We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

Sumburgh Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Sumburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel looks pretty dated inside and is in need of some new furnishings and decor, including the restaurant and bar area. We had an evening meal here which was an average "Pub meal". The staff were very polite and courteous, plus they managed to offer us a table even though we had not booked. If you are just looking for some basic pub food to go with a drinks night out it is adequate but if you are seeking somewhere for a romantic couples meal with ambiance or a more special meal then I would give it a miss.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shetland traveller
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Manageress with a customer attitude bordering on Fawlty Towers!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Two visits here in the space of a week: One for coffee (party of 8) and one for lunch (party of 7) 3 days apart. On both occasions the woman in charge (I would hate to call her a lady) barked instructions at us and lacked any attempt at empathy. Such a shame since the rest of the staff were lovely. We were treated like an inconvenience: she and Basil Fawlty would, I'm sure, get along swell. Judging from other customers comments on trip advisor, this problem has existed for a while and the hotel hasn't made any attempt at "retraining" (or training) this person. They should be embarrassed to be treating their guests this way - I was embarrassed for my guests. Food-wise; very nice coffee / hot chocolate. Long wait for food at lunchtime, small portions but otherwise OK (3/5). We won't be back in a hurry unless we hear that the person concerned has either mended her ways or gone elsewhere. Disappointed not to be made welcomed and treated with civility. Woof! Woof! :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lounge bar food great”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have eaten in the lounge bar here a few times. Often need to phone ahead to book, such is the popularity. Good local food, well prepared and excellent portions. Staff always helpful.
Menu has a lot of choice, yet food always seems fresh. Possibly the best place to eat in Shetland, and certainly the best South of Lerwick.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biginsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average food, average service.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Can't remember how much I paid for my meal, but I had fish and chips with peas. My friends enjoyed the seafood but to be honest it was something I could have made myself at home, probably better quality too. Was disappointed since it's in such a great location for tourism (our friends were visiting from America, we took them to see the sights and then we came here for dinner). Went for dinner the other week too, my boyfriend had the burger and it was poor quality for what he paid for it. Trying to recall how the service was but honestly can't remember seeing any staff apart from the one who showed us to the table. Service can really improve a visit but it wasn't memorable. Shame!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suiteheart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick
2 reviews
“Really pleasant staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've been for a few bar lunches recently and was really impressed with how pleasant & friendly the staff were.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LerwickKacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumburgh Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sumburgh Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing