We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly Shetland hospitality”
Review of Almara B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urafirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Almara B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Urafirth B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly Shetland hospitality”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at Almara B&B. We agree with so many of the previous reviews, a great place to stay. Marcia made us very welcome from when we arrived early and soaking wet to when we left. She has a large shared table in the dining room so you get to talk with your fellow guests over breakfast. Breakfast was a feast with haggis and black pudding and set you up for the day. Both Marcia and Alastair are very knowledgable on the local area and happy to give advice on where to visit. The surrounding area has fabulous coastal walks along the Ness of Hillswick, Rona Voe and at Eshaness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subandean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed two night here and wished we had longer! Marcia attended to our every need and has such excellent local knowledge. The sleep quality was very good and the breakfast was truly delicious - we even had the choice of haggis with our cooked breakfast - yum! We cannot recommend Almara highly enough.

Room Tip: Room with sea view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Ideal location for visiting northern parts of Shetland. Great hosts, most comfortable beds ever. Food at breakfast was excellent, especially the haggis. Made to feel very welcome. Busta House and Frankies good places nearby for evening meal

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

i stayed here for 4 nights with my brother in law Mel. its hard to know where to start but here goes.
spotlessly clean
spacious rooms
breakfast choice beyond belief
fantastic location,amazing views
friendly folks,marcia and alastair,with a wealth of information and advice on shetland
god willing i shall return in 2015 and sit at the big breakfast table,another strong point of the place,meeting fellow guests
arrived as strangers,that lasted all of 10seconds,left as though had been lifelong friends
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights this summer and could not have been made to feel more welcome by Marcia who is not only a great cook and cheery hostess, but also a fount of local knowledge and information. The rooms were cosy and comfortable, a soak in the bath after a long day's exploring the beautiful north-west of Mainland Shetland just bliss, and then to wake up to Marcia's unbeatable breakfast with a wide choice of anything that you could want, and plenty of it!
We will certainly be making a return visit, why would you want to stay anywhere else?
Bonita

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Cannot but echo what everyone says about this B&B. Marcia is indeed welcoming and her breakfasts are delicious with supersize portions. As one reviewer noted her bedrooms are not overly modern nor overly large but they offer everything one would want - our twin room had the luxury of hospital-style beds that could be adjust head and foot. Very good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeflash57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Outstanding place to stay. Fabulous views, lovely clean and comfortable rooms. This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever seen. Incredible, huge, delicious breakfasts. Marcia and her husband Alistair are a joy. We were made to feel very welcome. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
Christine and Mac Richards

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mydogsnameisSaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urafirth
7.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
296 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
146 reviews
26.0 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
74 reviews
25.7 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara B&B

Property: Almara B&B
Address: Upper Urafirth | Hillswick, Urafirth ZE2 9RH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Urafirth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Urafirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almara is a friendly 4 star B&B in the Shetland Islands, situated in the most beautiful region it has panoramic views and is near to the spectacular cliff scenery at Hillswick and Eshaness. An ideal location for exploring the rest of Shetland. Comfortable bedrooms have en-suite or private facilities, hospitality trays and all are wireless enabled. A hearty choice of breakfasts, using Shetland's finest produce whenever possible, is served from 06.30 hrs to 08.30 hrs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almara B&B Shetland Islands/Urafirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing