We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating taste of the Shetland past and present”
Review of The Old Haa

The Old Haa
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Yell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Local history museum with art gallery, tearoom and shop selling local crafts. Open April to September
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating taste of the Shetland past and present”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

a collection of fascinating local memorabilia giving an important insight into the past and the present. excellently presented, local arts and crafts. visit the craft shop, walled garden and have a delicious home made cake as well with your coffee or tea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King George Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibitions, delicious home bakes!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Old haa is our local museum so I visit often as the exhibitions change regularly. I always take visitors there and have never been disappointed. The coffee and homebakes are delicious and the atmosphere is very friendly. The walled garden is well maintained and colourful with interesting features.There is also a small shop which sells local crafts at reasonable prices.
it is very popular with local people who appreciate the ambience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank owdwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

You just won't believe the variety of historical items on display here. Very cozy atmosphere in the adjoining café.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bodo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Yell, Shetland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for visitors to Yell”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I are lucky enough to be able to visit The Old Haa frequently. It's a fascinating local museum, a lively gallery and craft shop and an excellent tea and coffee shop (with outstanding homemade cakes!) all situated in a lovely old building. Popular with visitors and locals it's also a great place for a chat or to meet friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit to the Old Haa”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We chose the smaller east road when we first got off the ferry at Yell. This lets you visit the Old Haa, and get an insight into yell, before seeing the rest if the isle. The lovey lady who opened the gift shop for us and mad our hot chocolate could not have been more helpful and bubbly. Maybe not the best for young kids, as there is a lot of detail in the written explanations. The cafe was a great place to sit and wait for the rain to pass. Nothing flash, but homely and authentic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tristy F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Haa also viewed

 

Been to The Old Haa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing