We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed overnight on a deal which included dinner on Saturday 16/11. Had a fantastic time. Booked several months ago but changed the booking recently as appeared on an itison deal. Hotel fantasic in helping me change to the deal and keep my room request for the master suite.

I never said at time of booking it was to booked to celebrate our engagement, proposed en route to hotel.

Room was fantastic. Bed huge and comfy and bathroom was amazing. Jet bath and great shower.

Food was also very good. With it being the deal it was a set menu but the choiced was more than enough for us. Breakfast was very good also, freshly cooked and good quality. Only down side was the restaurant was extremely hot both for dinner and breakfast. Not the most comfortabel way to enjoy and otherwise good meal.

We will be back as really enjoyed it and would like to spend somemore time there.

Room Tip: Cant fault the master suite, think it was 2009 (Tom Watson room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevnelFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    130
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
293
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely room and food was excellent. Restaurant extremely hot. Had to go out and get some air between courses as so hot. Piped music in the corridors was annoying and started around 8am. Too bad if you like to lie in as it is audible in your bedroom

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have just read the previous review and can't believe we stayed at the same hotel. As we have relatives in the in the village we have stayed at Old Loans in the past and have always been delighted with the accommodation and the service. At the beginning of this month we were back again for a family wedding. The greeting at reception was good, the room (as usual) was immaculate (including the complimentary apples and water) and the evening meal was superb. I must mention that I had the Teriyaki Salmon and would eat that again any day of the week. The dish included courgette. I am not a fan of courgette but it tasted so lovely that I asked the chef how it was prepared and he was kind enough to tell me! All the staff are attentive and efficient. On the morning that we left family members were coming for coffee to say goodbye and as we were in the lounge early we were offered 'breakfast coffee' which would have been part of our breakfast. Great service, thank you. We would recommend this hotel to anyone but slightly worried that it may become so popular we can't get booked!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marimac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments, as a regular visitor to The Old Loans Inn you will know we strive to offer the best in service, standards and customer care. I will pass your comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel last year and absolutely loved it, so when a deal came up again we jumped at the chance of going back but now wish we hadn't bothered. Part of our deal was fresh fruit and water on arrival this turned out to be 2 apples and small bottle of water in the room. The bedroom was clean and nicely decorated, however it was velux windows in the room therefore we could only open them a fraction and coudln't see anything apart from the car park. We headed to the bar in the afternoon which was quite pleasant for a couple of drinks, however in the evening after dinner it was really quiet, no atmosphere and emptied pretty early.

Dinner was what made this trip very disappointing, and the difference between this year and last years visit was like night & day. We had a limited menu to choose from, which I hadn't realised and there was only one vegetarian option for both starter and main course which I think is unacceptable. I didn't like the option available, so after some discussion with the waitress they agreed that I could choose from 2 other options from the main menu. The meal that turned up was bland and a mush of vegetables, bit of pastry, dolloped on top of mashed potatoes...........unappetising to say the least. My partners burger, was as dry as dust, and accompanied by a cup of approximately 6 or 7 chips which he did say were tasty however could have done with more. On the plus side, we both had profiteroles for dessert which were lovely. Another plus point was the restaurant manager who was very pleasant and understanding about our grumbles.

Was hoping that breakfast would rescue our trip, sadly that wasn't to be either. My partners cooked breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. My poached eggs were undercooked, and raw egg white at 9am in the morning is quite disgusting.....I would have informed the waiting staff however no-one came to ask if everything was ok, so didn't have a chance.

All in all, disappointing overnight stay, and definately feel that things have gone downhill in the last 12 months. Hopefully it'll get better and back to the way it was last year, but we won't be back to find out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
As a previous visitor to The Old Loans Inn, you will know the standards we deliver. Our menus have changed for this current promotion and I am sorry you were disappointed with the selection, but glad that our team could offer your alternatives from our main menu.

We strive to offer good value at a time when our business costs have increased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed here for out anniversary finding a fantastic deal online. We were delighted at the deal we got but even more delighted when we got to old loans. The hotel is lovely its nice inside and the room was fantastic, nice and clean and beautifully laid out. Loved everything. The roof top terrace was great and I imagine would be lovely in summer.
I really was blown away at how nice it was and how friendly the staff were. I will 100% be back.
I thoroughly recommend staying here

Also if you get the chance eat in the restraunt. I am typically fussy when it comes to my food and it was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Top marks to the chefs. The waiting staff could not have been more helpful aswell

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at The Old Loans Inn, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were visiting family nearby so location was perfect for us. Room was clean and spacious and bathroom, spotless and modern. I am not always the easiest to please but I found this breakfast the best I have had in this size of hotel. Price paid for bed and breakfast seemed reasonable before we got there, but it was definitely worth the money as we were completely satisfied.The staff were very attentive and friendly. The only slight negative was that the bar prices seemed high compared to what we are used to but we have nothing else to compare them to in Scotland so had another one anyway!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, as a privately owned company we strive to provide the best in standards and customer care, I am delighted enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel...the most friendly and helpful staff, excellent food and an extremely comfortable room, spotlessly clean with every amenity you could possibly need. Thank you for a great weekend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and will pass your comments to our team at the Old Loans Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Property: Old Loans Inn
Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing