We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my wife and my elderly mother. The manager, Garry, politely allocated us two rooms next to one another. All the staff working in the hotel were very courteous and pleasant. The rooms are first class, spacious and spotlessly clean. The food and the breakfasts were excellent, with plenty choice. The only complaint that I would have is that the prices for drinks are very expensive ( though they do advertise special promotions) and you can take out a loyalty card and collect points Would I stay here again? Definitely yes! Forget the price you pay for the drinks, enjoy, for you will not be disappointed. Good luck to all the staff and best wishes. Must also add that there is a very fast and efficient lift to cover the two floors which is great for those who need it.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with work. Really enjoyed the hotel. Immaculate rooms and surrounding areas. With a brilliant views. Staff were very friendly and cudnt do enough to help. The food in the restaurant was also great, both breakfast and tea. Can't wait to come back and stay up there. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Royrace9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

After looking around on-line I called the booking line and explained that my wife and i would be staying one night and arriving late. At this point the lady I spoke to offered me the best price for B&B she could and advised me of the restaurants last orders time (she also made a note that we would be looking food on arrival for the booking). I called the day before to confirm last orders and upon arriving reception called the restaurant to say we were there. The kitchen staff stayed late for us and provided a wonderful meal (serving my pregnant wife's meal in under 10 minutes from ordering and mine 5 minutes later, which we requested). This level of service continued at breakfast and again at check-out. The room was clean and finished to a high standard, a comfortable nights sleep was had. Only wish we could have stayed longer. The staff from booking to leaving were superb. Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have been staying here on a regular basis for the past 2-3 years due to frequent business trips to the area. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the food in the restaurant is very good and the staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we recently stayed at the inn to break our journey on our motorcycle,on arrival the staff were very friendly and even dried our bike gear.we had a meal that night and the pie and mash was delicious....the breakfast was also very tasty and the staff were always in attendance.im hard to please and id highly recommend old loans inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harley20141965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Old Loans Inn during the 2014 Commonwealth Games, so that we were away from Glasgow, but close enough to get the train to Glasgow each day.

We were very impressed with the hotel. Lovely and spacious room, well appointed, clean and tidy with all of the required facilities.

We had lunch in the restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised with the quality, quantity and price of this - excellent. Nice outdoor seating area, with shade and waitress service.
The bar is well stocked and the choice of menu options is extensive.

Breakfast was a buffet affair for cold items, with a choice of hot options that could be ordered. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious.

We returned each evening from the Commonwealth Games quite late (11:30 to midnight) and the night porter was very happy to welcome us back and also to serve us a small nightcap (as you do)

The only problem we had was that our bedroom was incredibly hot. Scotland was having a bit of a summer and the rooms on the first floor are almost in the roof space, so were getting the sun all day. There was no air flow, and whilst we had a small fan in the room, this sadly did very little to relieve the heat. These upper rooms really do need some sort of climate control.

That said, this is a great hotel and we'd be more than happy to try a few of the other properties in this select chain of boutique hotels.

Room Tip: Not sure what to recommend here. We had a room at the front of the hotel, on the road, though this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seanclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall my hubby and I had a great night away (we have 4 kids, any night away is great!) We were on a DBB voucher purchased several months ago.
Thought it strange that our dinner allowance was either 2 courses from a set meal @ £11.95 but would only deduct £10 from the main menu.
The assistant manager did however deduct the £11.95 (x2) after our waiter said it was unfair!

But do you now what? The food was fab, staff friendly, great atmosphere. Really enjoyed it and hope to be back soon.

Pros; Great food, friendly staff, good location, fresh contemporary decor
Cons; No receptionist, uncomfortable beds, nasty pillows, inconsistent wi-fi

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing