We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money!!”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked an overnight stay for our first anniversary using BookaSpa.com. It was great value as we paid £95 each for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, two mini treatments each and full use of the leisure facilities.

The food and service was excellent and the surroundings were lovely and immaculate.

The room was comfortable and had everything needed for a great stay.

The location is fab and has some fantastic views from all parts of the hotel.

I would definitely reccommend a stay here and will definitely use them again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a Living Social voucher which included use of the spa facilities and a champagne afternoon tea. The spa facilities were lovely - the pool was quite big for a hotel pool (17m), and the glass building it was housed in was lovely - especially as it was a very sunny day. The sauna was too hot to use, unfortunately, but both the spa and the steam room were great. the whole area was very clean, and was well presented.

Unfortunately the afternoon tea was a bit of a let down. The restaurant has great views, and we were seated at the window, looking out. Our server complained to us several times that they had been really busy, and that 4 parties had arrived with vouchers to use when they wee only expecting 1. When we were there the restaurant was almost empty, with just a few customers sitting outside. It made us feel uncomfortable that she complained o much to us.

The afternoon tea itself consisted of small strips of sandwiches (normal sized pieces of bread cut into 3 with the crusts cut off) - egg mayonnaise, tuna mayonnaise and ham. They were hardly inspiring, and the bread was of a very low quality. the cakes were not much better - three different types of cake (chocolate, coconut, carrot) - all cut the same, and made the same way - some were a little stale. Theere was also a shortbread biscuit each and a scone - although the portion of jam with this was quite measly, the portion of cream was good.

In all, it was disappointing, especially as we were celebrating our anniversary - we thought a 4 star hotel with a good reputation would be offering a much better afternoon tea than the one we ended up with.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

lovely hotel,in a fantastic location.staff very helpful and friendly.food very good.amenities great.will definitely return

Room Tip: request a sea view at time of booking.pay the extra for deluxe room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaRoo_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Bit late in posting this (it was actually Christmas time when we stayed), but got to say how much we enjoyed this hotel. Room was very good (great view of the the golf course and the sea). Food was tremendous and great value - definitely worth eating in the hotel. However, best of all, was the staff. From reception (including the kilted greeter) to the bar staff and waitresses, they could not have been better. It is very rare that you can say this, but they really are a tremendous plus for this Hotel. Well done!

P.S. I had read someone stating how good the porridge was. They were right! Best I've tasted!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We arrived at The Marine hotel and were checked in to an ok hotel room. All the amenities were there and as we only paid for a standard room... couldn't complain. The full Scottish breakfast was excellent and offered a good variety of both hot and cold food. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town and the crazy golf! For us, sitting in the bar watching the sun set until 11.30pm was a very relaxing evening... I had forgotten that the sun sets so much later in Scotland!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a 2 night stay which I found very relaxing. the room overlooked the golf course and sea. It was a good sized room and well decorated. Had dinner 2nd night menu was good and food very tasty and well presented. All the staff in every department were extremely helpful and friendly, I had my 92 year old mum with me and they could not do enough for her especially Tom the doorman he is a gem and helped mum in and out of the hotel, and overall made her feel special. This is not the first time I have been here , previously went for a spa package which was also very good value had a great massage. I am and will continue to be a regular visitor to this hotel mainly down to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Best rooms on 1st and 2nd floors as 3rd floor has attic style ceilings.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We would recommend this hotel to everyone. From service to facilities we could not fault. Its one of those hotels you can simply sit back and relax. The restaurant service and food was first class. Breakfast was brilliant and well set out. Nothing was to much trouble for any staff.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the golf course and sea but i would say all rooms are quiet becau...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekwebb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,534 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range: £55 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing