We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Marine”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent staff and value.great location and walks.close to Prestwick and Ayr with their great shops and restaurants.The Marine has a great restaurant with a great choice of meals and wines but it is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and especially pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant.
I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    633
    282
    132
    92
See reviews for
284
1,122
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My work colleagues and I visited the marine hotel for the festive party night and an overnight stay on saturday 7/12/13
The girls on the check in desk were lovely and welcoming, and check in prompt and informative.
The hotel itself was well presented in a beautiful location, very spacious clean rooms although I was disappointed our balcony door was screwed shut. However I did understand there could be a possible health and safety concern and this was the reason for the permanent closure.
The festive party night evening meal was delicious although as a table of only seven we were not all served at the same time and some of my colleagues were disappointed at the portion sizes.
My disappointments were that the free glass of wine on arrival did not arrive and the resident band roadster advertised as the entertainment was in fact a man sitting in a chair playing songs from a computer. However I would return to this hotel as the facilities and the staff were first class.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. I am very pleased that you had such a great stay with us.
Apologies for any confusion regarding the band, the only party night that offered a disco rather than a band was the one you attended and whilst this was clearly marked in all of our advertising I am sorry if you were disappointed.
We work hard to maintain a high standard and it is very encouraging to read such great feedback. Thanks or choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the time we arrived at the hotel, we were treated so well by all the staff, Walter the concierge and Heather at check in could not do enough for us. The staff in the spa, bar and restaurant were all excellent. The sea view rooms are well worth the extra, the views are fantastic. The hotel is very relaxing and so peaceful and that was when the hotel was full. We enjoyed the leisure facilities, the food was lovely and the spa therapists were fab. So I would definitely recommend this hotel for a get away from it all break with a lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshirePinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks for the great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we can only maintain a high standard by listening to our guests therefore your feedback is hugely encouraging. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My friend and i visited your hotel 30/11/13 for 1 overnight spa break, check in swift and informative, girls pleasant and very courteous, they are a credit to your hotel. Hotel room nice and homely, we were in room 19, was a disabled room, so large spacious bathroom,bedroom had all facilities, iron,iron board,hairdryer,toiletries in bathroom,room was very warm though but probably would appreciate this nearer winter time. Spa facilities very good, we both had a 1/2 hr massage and 1/2hr facial in the one room together which was very nice, the girls were very good and very polite and friendly,nice touch to be taken together as at some spa's although you book this it doesn't always happen which then means someone is left sitting on their own whilst the other one is in. Pool very nice and clean and noticed that in the Short space of time that we were there. they had taken 2 samples to be tested. Toweling robe and slippers were supplied as part of our booking. Spa was at 5pm for both us, filled in usual informative questionnaire for their records. We had dinner booked for 2015 hrs in the two fat ladies restaurant, very very nice, we had golf course,sea view in conservatory which was a lovely surprise, food was exquisite and albeit we did not partake on the a la carte menu, the normal was not far behind, very very impressed with service and food, all staff were well trained,well informed, courteous, pleasant and nothing was a trouble to them, breakfast was very nice as well and all the nice touches warm plates, asked if we needed topped up with tea and toast, all in all this was well worth the price that we paid, would recommend this hotel to friends and family,very very nice - the staff are a credit to the hotel.My only irk was the price of a glass of rose wine £ 6.75 bearing in mind wouldn't of complained about the price but there is no way this was a large glass of wine more a small to medium, when you compare that you can get a bottle of blossom hill rose wine for £ 6-£7.00, outwith the hotel so slightly pricey there but didn't put me off.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murph0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. It is great to read such great feedback and I am particularly happy to see that you enjoyed your experience in Two Fat Ladies.
Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We were at this lovely hotel for our anniversary. Lovely room, very spacious and we'll kept. We were helped to our room by a very nice door man. The lounge was relaxing and not to expensive for drinks. Great views across to Arran and over the golf course. The food in the restaurant was first class, and there was no rush to finish your meal. Breakfast again was excellent. We never used the spa facilities but they looked good. Defiantely a must return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you had a good stay.
We work very hard to maintain a high standard and it is very encouraging to read such great feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here, for the second year in a row, for a 2 night break along with another couple. The location is excellent with the most wonderful views out to Ailsa Craig and Arran. The hotel has a lovely, relaxed feel to it and the staff are all very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Food was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mjs412013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay, I am delighted that you had a pleasant visit.
It is very encouraging to see such great feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed our new restaurant.
Thank you very much for staying with us again and I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel is very comfortable & welcoming. The staff are friendly and eager to help - as I discovered when we were relocated to a bedroom with a shower unit, as my wife would have difficulty to access a shower over a bath. This was achieved for us despite the hotel being extremely busy.
I would recommend taking advantage of any special offers, as the quality of the good alone merits a visit so any deal s a bonus.
My one gripe is the poor wifi speed,baking a dimple newspaper download a very lengthy & frustrating operation.
If that were addressed, which I am sure will be, then I would rated the hotel a worthy 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulietP806, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your trip and pleased that we responded quickly to your requests.
Thank you for the feedback regarding our Wi-Fi I will have this checked.
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing