We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My in-laws bought me and my husband an overnight stay (breakfast included) for my 40th birthday. Hotel was fantastic. Room was lovely with great views of the golf course and the staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were offered a free drink at the bar whilst our room was being prepared - nice touch! The only downside of our stay was our visit to the hotel restaurant The Two Fat Ladies @ The Marine. Food was average and very overpriced. We paid about £150 for 2 people for a 3 course dinner. There are no prices on the menu so we didn't realise how much we were paying until we checked out the next morning - needless to say I was not happy! Next time we stay at the hotel we will be going for dinner at Scotts - lovely restaurant in Troon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I was able to check your bill and you paid close to £150, however this included your overnight stay, breakfast and drinks. There is no combination of dishes that could get anywhere close to £150 for two people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    636
    283
    136
    95
See reviews for
285
1,125
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for two nights using an amazon voucher. This hotel is excellent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is always plenty of staff around. The hotel was very clean and the service in the restaurant was excellent. Can not fault this hotel. I wanted to stay longer and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amandwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that your stay was so enjoyable. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent hotel and facilities hotel food amazing really nice atmosphere only
Stayed for 1 night break with dinner bed and breakfast included great value for money. We paid extra to upgrade for a suite excellent views over the golf course

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSuncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for the review, I am delighted that your stay was so enjoyable! I very much hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was booked as a B&B deal and as such was good value. Our room was smaller than we'd expected and was a bit dark and gloomy, overlooking the back of the hotel, however it was very clean and well-appointed.
All staff we met were professional and attentive and although the hotel was obviously busy we didn't feel neglected on any way.

We enjoyed use of the gym and spa facilities which were nice and open long hours.
The breakfast buffet was well-stocked and the food was tasty.

All on all it was a good value weekend break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joyce-the-voice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks for your review, I am very pleased to see that you were impressed. Thanks for choosing us and I hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special, a warm welcome from reception and a speedy check in ensured this. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, only draw back being our "ground floor" room was up a flight of stairs then down a flight and a half. We had drinks at the bar and dinner in the "2 fat ladies" restaurant all the time service and welcome were impeccable. Food was delicious both at dinner and buffet breakfast the next day. We went on a 5pm deal and the value for money was brilliant, I can't wait to go back again, hopefully for a 2 night stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks for the great review! I am delighted that your stay was so positive. Its brilliant to read such great feedback, thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for a birthday treat while on a little Scottish break. The hotel was excellent. Although the hotel was full attention to detail was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful. Evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. Excellent location stunning views across the golf course to the sea. Perfect stay. Great location. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room No 1 so peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for the great review, your comments are greatly appreciated! Thank you for staying with us and I hope it is not too long until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have visited this hotel several times over the last few years, I am disappointed to say that it is not as good as it used to be. Some of the staff have been there a long time and do their job very well, others do not do their job very well or seem to have forgotten why they are there. Our arrival was very good and reception staff courteous helpful and friendly. The lady who greeted us at breakfast was not at all professional, she almost chastised the young lady who was in front of us because she could not remember how many were in her party. She then discussed how harassed she was because the hotel was so busy and that there was not enough room for some of the guests who were being ushered to the lounge to wait their turn for an empty table.
The young restaurant staff were well trained helpful and pleasant.
The food presentation was good but lacking in flavour and individuality.
Our main disappointment were tired grey towels in our bathroom, damaged wall in the bedroom, cracked window in bedroom and curtains with trailing weight cord hanging on the floor and a trip hazard and a badly stained chair.
The other unprofessional staff issue was an austere woman who strutted into the lounge area to chastise a young man for not answering the telephone and did so within hearing distance of guests. The young man in question was stocking up and had been to the cellar when the 'telephone was ringing, he had only been gone for a few minutes and returned laden with boxes. Unlike her he was professional enough to take the row and not answer or argue back.
They need to up their game and remember that guests are the reason they are working in the hotel and not an inconvenience to their day.
We will have to read some good reviews about improvement in this hotel before We will return.
Retrain your older staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us. I appreciate your comments regarding some of the team and will follow up with them individually. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and I hope that the many positive reviews we receive will persuade you to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,491 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing