We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend break.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
1 review
“Relaxing weekend break.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On arrival the hotel looked ok although the state of the windows did make us think. The location seemed really good and i was looking forward to spending the weekend just chilling and enjoying the views. Unfortunatly it was not the weekend we had in mind. The view from our room consisted of "NOT ONE BUT TWO FLAT ROOFS, SLATE ROOFS AND A CAR PARK". The bathroom had wall paper falling off and was very small. The room its self was tiny. The room was not serviced on the next day even though i had asked for this to be done. This could of been such a lovely weekend but im very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your review although I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As I said when we spoke I am unsure why our housekeeping team would have failed to service your room unless there was a do not disturb sign on your door but apologise if they did not.
Not all of our rooms have views but this can guaranteed by booking either a deluxe room or a suite. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    625
    274
    124
    87
See reviews for
279
1,099
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment I checked in the staff were so professional and friendly that I felt right at home. Nothing was too much trouble and the Scottish welcome certainly rivals the Irish cead mile failte. Room 210 has a fantastic view over the 18th hole and the sea. Dinner was most enjoyable and again service was excellent. I would have given a five star review except that breakfast was disappointing. Certainly plenty of options but the full Scottish appeared to have been prepared sometime before serving it.

All in all a lovely one night stay, would love to return, fantastic staff, particularly in reception and what a location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishtraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for the review. I am very pleased that your stay was so good, I'm sorry if your breakfast was not right in any way but thanks for passing the comments along. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked for a quiet weekend with husband was not disappointed never used much of the facilities but everything that we needed was available very comfortable room no complants surrounding scenery delightful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to complete a questionnaire following your recent stay, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! I hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

decent value hotel, as close to the clubhouse as you could wish for. Room and bathroom small, view on the room i had was non-existant. Restaurant was OK, bar and terrace nice though. Didnt use the pool but looked pleasant. Breakfast not available before 7am, so missed out on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you missed breakfast, we are more than happy to open earlier or provide something for you to take away if you let us know.
Thanks again and I hope that we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

i used to stay here and at the sister Hotel in Stirling a few years ago. I stopped due to falling standards in service and food.
Im happy to say that this is no longer an issue as the service is excellent and the food, particularly breakfast, much better.
The health suite and gym are also good.
The evening meal in the two fat ladies was nice but a bit bland.
Also having so many dishes with a supplement on the small set menu is not great. I would add that the supplements are larger than the difference on the price of the dishes on the main menu. Strange.
We also had an issue with housekeeping which we addressed on the Hotel survey. this was answered promptly by management stating the matter had been dealt with.
The room we stayed in was spacious however in need of refurbishment.
The above did not detract from a lovely stay and i would recommend this Hotel especially with the deals on offer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for the review. The team work very hard to ensure that the hotel is the best version of itself so it is encouraging to read that this is being felt in the guest experience. I am sorry that you felt the food as bland. The menu re-design increased the choice significantly with nine items per course to choose from, only two of which have a supplement.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well presented hotel right next to Royal Troon Golf Course on the front
Lovely staff, good food and clean and tidy.
The rooms were a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for a short stay.
The spa facilities were good as was the leisure facilites like pool and sauna.
I would definately book this hotel again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for the great review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here on a business conference over the weekend of April 26-27, we were luck with the weather and view views across to Arron were magnificent. The hospitality was fantastic, the food excellent and the hotel well maintained with very friendly staff. Free wifi, good service and breakfast to die for, you can skip lunch when you fill up on 'tatty scones' haggis and black pudding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Globalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for the great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,428 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing