We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly excellent”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went mainly for a quick break and to try the Two Fat Ladies restaurant. Weather was great so the coastal location was excellent. Staff were very good and attentive. Dinner was very good although the menu was a little unadventurous but saying that the experience was very enjoyable and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ronniewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for the review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed your meal. I appreciate the criticism as well, we are always working to be the best version of ourselves so perhaps next time we will make "excellent"! Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We bought 5pm vouchers which were £99 each and provided bed breakfast and £40 credit to use in bar restaurant or spa. Well worth the money as we bought two which provided us with a well earned relaxing break at marine hotel. Staff were lovely and each breakfast and evening meal we were seated at the window without asking which was a bonus having sea view. Would recommend this hotel and services to all.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for the great review, I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed two nights on a great deal, paying £85 per night with a £75 credit to be spent in the hotel!
We had a lovely view of the 18th fairway at Royal Troon on the second floor. The room was a good size with a very nice bathroom.
Our dinner in the main dining room was 'ok", the breakfast was better. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The area is very flat so it's ideal for long lazy walks along the beach and seafront. There is plenty of free parking.
The most disappointing part of our stay was the bed. It was dreadful, as the bed sloped into the middle and this made for a very restless nights sleep! If we return to the area we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise if the bed was not to your liking, I appreciate you mentioning it and I will have this checked. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent a few days here this June and really enjoyed the stay. we booked a deluxe room through secret escapes and got what we thought was a good deal. Whilst the room was meant to be ready for 1500, it was in fact another 30 minutes before it was ready but the staff did apologise. We had room 230 which was a corner room so we had 180 degree views and a little sitting area at the windows which was a lovely way to see the golf course and the coastline. Room was a little tired but comfortable and big enough. Toiletries were not great but adequate towels were the same. There is no air conditioning but we could open windows which kept us reasonably comfortable. There is no fridge in the room.
We ate at two fat ladies both nights and whilst the food was good I didn't think it was nearly as good as the Glasgow city centre restaurant. My wife thinks both were as good as each other! Breakfast was very good with a large selection of hot and cold food on offer.
Staff throughout the hotel were very good, friendly and amenable, so a big tick in the box there. There is one small lift in the hotel so I'm not sure how disabled friendly they are, best to check before booking.
All in all a lovely restful break in a great location.

Room Tip: Room 230 is a deluxe room but well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for the review. Your comments regarding Two Fat Ladies are appreciated. All four Two Fat Ladies restaurants have their own personality and are very much individual restaurants, we are working hard to establish our own version of that here at the Marine. Although I would tend to agree with your wife regarding the food I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went for two night stay and had a lovely time and all staff were extremely friendly and room was very clean. The only problem was there was not much peace and quiet owing to several American golfers who took over the Bar area. They wore caps and golf shoes in the carpeted bar even though there was notices on the outside and inside of the outside revolving doors. This would not put us off from staying again as we still had an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: The sea view is lovely as it overlooks the golf course too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clang186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel. It enjoys an excellent location with views of the golf links and seafront. It is ideally situated to visit the many interesting places in the area. We had opted for a superior room and it was first class. The main restaurant "Two Fat Ladies" provides food that is of decent quality but not outstanding. The staff are of a younger age group and we found their friendliness, attentiveness and helpful approach to be refreshing. This was underlined by the concierge insisting in carrying our luggage to our car on departure. The wifi was perfect. Although there is a wide range of TV channels available, as so many of the top sports events are now on Sky and BT sports, it was a wee bit disappointing that they were not available. Presumably, this is due to costs. All in all, we found are visit to the Marine Hotel to be satisfactory.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank strathmore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review you stay, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for choosing the Marine Hotel and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On the whole quite good. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Great view of Royal Troon golf course. The lunch we had was fine but the dinner we had at night was not very good at all, two of us only ate half of our stakes. This is the reason for the lower score as it was only the evening meal that let it down. Two minds whether to return or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turbomallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the restaurant more. We are reviewing our choice of steaks this week and will certainly make changes if required. Your feedback is very valuable and most appreciated. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,609 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £63 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing