We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From our arrival, when we were greeted by Kimberley, until we left, we never encountered any staff who were anything but cheery and helpful. Whether from housekeeping, bar, or restaurant!
Getting buckets of ice and glasses was no problem, at all.
Our room was nice, with a view out to sea, and over Royal Troon Golf course. It was fine for 2 nights, but perhaps a bit small, if you were staying longer.
The bed was only a double, which felt small, when you're used to larger beds!
There is free wifi in the rooms, which was good.
We had dinner on 1 night, and 2 breakfasts. The food was good and tasty, but, nothing to rave about. The excess charge on some of the breakfast items was a bit excessive.
Overall, though, we had a very nice time, and I would have no hesitation in returning for another short break!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent a tremendous overnight stay with our daughter who was on hols from Australia ,the rooms were perfect and the food courtesy of "Two Fat Ladies "was first class. We also used the Spa facilities ,Thanks again to Kimberley and Lynsey for there attention and how nice and cheery they were, and we will definitely be back .Linda seymour

Room Tip: Try for sea facing ,but all room are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70ian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for the great review, I am very pleased that your stay was so good and that you enjoyed Two Fat Ladies so much. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I spent a two night break here on the 16 th July and it was fantastic! I booked through classic britain for the second time in a month. Every about this hotel is great but in particular the staff! I cannot praise them high enough! They are warm, friendly and have a sense of humour which is delightful. Only negative and it is a slight one was my room the second time had no view at all so was a little disappointed initially! The fire alarm going off at two in the morning only added to the fun! It was much appreciated the next day when the the lovely 'Geordie ' manager went round every guest to apologise for the 'drama' the night before! I will definitely return again but request a sea view room even if it is extra! Thanks to all the lovely staff for making both stays at your hotel a joy!

Room Tip: A sea view room may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I am delighted that we will see you again! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our stay was lovely as was the weather. Hotel is old but of a high standard and very clean. Beautiful views from the hotel and beach was within easy reach to enjoy a walk on.All staff we met were most friendly and helpful even at 2am when the hotel fire alarms went off and we all had to wait outside for the fire brigade to arrive!! (special mention to Kimberly) Food was good, especially enjoyed the breakfast which was large enough to set you up for the day. Only very small moan was the poor view from our room which sadly was of a building roof and not of the golf course or sea, however, as we did not spend a great deal of time in our room it was ok.

Room Tip: Room 109 on first floor did not have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the review. I am very pleased to read that you had a good visit and its great that you were lucky with the weather! Apologies again regarding the fire alarm! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Have just had a fantastic time at this spa! I am a regularl users of spas but have never been as compelled before to write such a positive review. My boyfriend and I booked in for a massage, facial and lunch and were so impressed with everything! Every member of staff we encountered was so professional, friendly, helpful and smiley. The surroundings were lovely and the treatments we received were exceptional. I have to make special mention of my beauty therapist - she was so friendly and knowledgable and talked me through all the products she used for my facial. The 2 course lunch we had was lovely and we have left feeling relaxed and refreshed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this spa and hotel and will definitely be returning soon. Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LittlePicklePug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! I am delighted that your day was so special. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel overall was lovely - the room was modern and comfortable, bar area and restaurant were pleasant to sit in and a great view to enjoy. All staff we enountered couldn't have been more helpful. Our room wasn't ready on check in or when we were asked to return but the receptionist offered drinks and lunch as recompense, which was very nice. The pool was very nice and the gym had a great range of equipment. Food in the restaurant and bar was delicious. Couldn't fault anything at all, really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice area between a few golf courses.
The hotel building is very very beautiful.
The staff needs a vacation to fresh up.
Food in the hotel room is good at mid price 27-35£ for diner
Some rooms are small, a specialty the toilette.
The gym is good with a nice pool.
Room prices are 75£ and above.
Nice balcony at the front of the hotel.
Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range: £55 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing