We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good one night stay.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good one night stay.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room was at the back of the hotel and had no view as such although it was comfortable and clean. As this was a Groupon deal, which included a £40 voucher, we couldn't really expect the best room. The spa facilities and pool were very good. The meal in The Two Fat Ladies resturant was good with a lovely view of the golf course. Obviously this hotel is in a great location if you were planning to use the golf course.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    630
    275
    127
    91
See reviews for
283
1,111
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The service excelled our expectations Our room was stunning overlooking the golf course and beach Evening meal in the "Two Fat Ladies" restaurant was first class and reasonably priced I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank foxy32Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review. It is very encouraging to read such great feedback, thanks for choosing to stay and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a one night stay away for my wife's birthday to be told they had no trace of my booking.1.got given a room with a view of a brick wall after paying for a deluxe room.2 when back to reception to be told no deluxe room left we will give you a refund of 20 quid.3 asked if my wife good basically change her birthday to another weekend, as if.all in all you expect better don'tyou.oh also told it was aAmazon fault for the booking been wrong .also a lie.just terrible.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thommacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the second review of your stay. As I said in my earlier reply I am sorry for the mix up with your reservation. Your situation was most regrettable and I am sorry that you left before we had the chance to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay and if you expect 4 star that is not what this hotel is . We had to ask for room change as first one had marked first carpet , one small window that would not stay open - very warm day and no air conditioning . The staff did kindly give us another room , it was cleaner , but had steamed up double glazing and wallpaper coming off in places . The whole hotel has dated worn carpets and all the glass doors were covered in hand marks . The staff were helpful but you had to wait for service . I did give direct feedback to the hotel . But this is just a note for other customers as for £175 a night with a 4 star rating I expect much more . Unless hotel is updated I will not use again .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review. It is disappointing that you were not happier with your stay but I thank you for your comments. I hope that we will have another chance to impress in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From our arrival, when we were greeted by Kimberley, until we left, we never encountered any staff who were anything but cheery and helpful. Whether from housekeeping, bar, or restaurant!
Getting buckets of ice and glasses was no problem, at all.
Our room was nice, with a view out to sea, and over Royal Troon Golf course. It was fine for 2 nights, but perhaps a bit small, if you were staying longer.
The bed was only a double, which felt small, when you're used to larger beds!
There is free wifi in the rooms, which was good.
We had dinner on 1 night, and 2 breakfasts. The food was good and tasty, but, nothing to rave about. The excess charge on some of the breakfast items was a bit excessive.
Overall, though, we had a very nice time, and I would have no hesitation in returning for another short break!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent a tremendous overnight stay with our daughter who was on hols from Australia ,the rooms were perfect and the food courtesy of "Two Fat Ladies "was first class. We also used the Spa facilities ,Thanks again to Kimberley and Lynsey for there attention and how nice and cheery they were, and we will definitely be back .Linda seymour

Room Tip: Try for sea facing ,but all room are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70ian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review, I am very pleased that your stay was so good and that you enjoyed Two Fat Ladies so much. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I spent a two night break here on the 16 th July and it was fantastic! I booked through classic britain for the second time in a month. Every about this hotel is great but in particular the staff! I cannot praise them high enough! They are warm, friendly and have a sense of humour which is delightful. Only negative and it is a slight one was my room the second time had no view at all so was a little disappointed initially! The fire alarm going off at two in the morning only added to the fun! It was much appreciated the next day when the the lovely 'Geordie ' manager went round every guest to apologise for the 'drama' the night before! I will definitely return again but request a sea view room even if it is extra! Thanks to all the lovely staff for making both stays at your hotel a joy!

Room Tip: A sea view room may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I am delighted that we will see you again! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing