We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star experience”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having enjoyed breaks at the Marine in the past I've got to say I was very disappointed.Our room overlooked a brick wall.The evening meal was the worst part.We had to wait ages for anyone to attend to us and another long wait before anything arrived on the table.This was the case for most of us and as there was no background music it felt like being in a waiting room.The menu and cuisine were average,not 4 star. They even charge extra almost £5, for kippers or eggs Benedict at breakfast!- this is common fayre for 4 star hotels.Staff at reception were professional and helpful but the same could not be said about the bar staff.Prices are 4 star but sadly the experience no longer is.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 70yvonne70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, all of the feedback we receive is used to maintain our high standard and whilst I am sorry for any lapse in standard I appreciate you passing the comments on. I do hope that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This magnificent hotel has the best location overlooking the golf course and sea. It was clean, well maintained, quiet and interesting. The hotel staff were exceptional, particularly Kimberley on reception who could not have been more bubbly and welcoming if she tried! The food was fantastic, top quality and delicious. The waiters were more than helpful, and quite honestly can't fault a thing about this stay and we are seasoned travellers.
If you get chance to stay at this hotel, then grab it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 2dallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to maintain a high standard and it is massively encouraging to read such good comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room was at the back of the hotel and had no view as such although it was comfortable and clean. As this was a Groupon deal, which included a £40 voucher, we couldn't really expect the best room. The spa facilities and pool were very good. The meal in The Two Fat Ladies resturant was good with a lovely view of the golf course. Obviously this hotel is in a great location if you were planning to use the golf course.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The service excelled our expectations Our room was stunning overlooking the golf course and beach Evening meal in the "Two Fat Ladies" restaurant was first class and reasonably priced I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank foxy32Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for the review. It is very encouraging to read such great feedback, thanks for choosing to stay and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked a one night stay away for my wife's birthday to be told they had no trace of my booking.1.got given a room with a view of a brick wall after paying for a deluxe room.2 when back to reception to be told no deluxe room left we will give you a refund of 20 quid.3 asked if my wife good basically change her birthday to another weekend, as if.all in all you expect better don'tyou.oh also told it was aAmazon fault for the booking been wrong .also a lie.just terrible.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thommacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for the second review of your stay. As I said in my earlier reply I am sorry for the mix up with your reservation. Your situation was most regrettable and I am sorry that you left before we had the chance to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay and if you expect 4 star that is not what this hotel is . We had to ask for room change as first one had marked first carpet , one small window that would not stay open - very warm day and no air conditioning . The staff did kindly give us another room , it was cleaner , but had steamed up double glazing and wallpaper coming off in places . The whole hotel has dated worn carpets and all the glass doors were covered in hand marks . The staff were helpful but you had to wait for service . I did give direct feedback to the hotel . But this is just a note for other customers as for £175 a night with a 4 star rating I expect much more . Unless hotel is updated I will not use again .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the review. It is disappointing that you were not happier with your stay but I thank you for your comments. I hope that we will have another chance to impress in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From our arrival, when we were greeted by Kimberley, until we left, we never encountered any staff who were anything but cheery and helpful. Whether from housekeeping, bar, or restaurant!
Getting buckets of ice and glasses was no problem, at all.
Our room was nice, with a view out to sea, and over Royal Troon Golf course. It was fine for 2 nights, but perhaps a bit small, if you were staying longer.
The bed was only a double, which felt small, when you're used to larger beds!
There is free wifi in the rooms, which was good.
We had dinner on 1 night, and 2 breakfasts. The food was good and tasty, but, nothing to rave about. The excess charge on some of the breakfast items was a bit excessive.
Overall, though, we had a very nice time, and I would have no hesitation in returning for another short break!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing