We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have stayed at.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have stayed at.”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Location superb, facilities excellent, staff very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was outstanding. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlanger000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    641
    285
    138
    96
See reviews for
290
1,130
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Lovely hotel with great views. Had a meal one night of are stay which was lovely with friendly staff, breakfast was nice tho the hot food is not in buffet form like most 4star hotels, some people may prefer this. Room was nice tho the bathroom was starting to show a bit of wear. There are some great deals about for this hotel and if you get one its definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfc1Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Enjoyed stay, nice welcome from friendly staff. Room was small, but cute, up on 3rd floor in the roof space, so room had interesting shape. Spend nice afternnon in bar area, nice staff. On going to room, in the shower was the 'old, empty' shampoo and shower gel bottles from previous occupant. Only 1 shower gel supplied, not much when 2 people having a shower before going out in evening and then next day too. Glasses in room also dirty, one haivng lip marks on it, the other had some kind of sticky residue on the bottom. Stay was good value, with a special room rate that inclued breakfast, but cleanliness is basic, and if you cant get that right at this leval it is poor and disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyB5406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

-From the moment my wife and I checked in we were well looked after as usual.All of the staff from the reception, dining room,bar ,leisure and cleaners have a warm and pleasant manner and are a credit to the hotel.The variety,quality and presentation of food at breakfast and dinner is excellent.We would highly recommend this hotel particularly for a relaxing short break.We shall be back.

Mr. Mrs. RJ Wilson Cambuslang

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJW1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I would not normally have even looked at a hotel of this callibre because I would have thought it would be too expensive but we got a great one night deal.

We found the booking-in process was friendly and easy, the room was extremely comfortable and very clean, the breakfast service was very efficient and most importantly the staff were brilliant (young and enthusiastic).

The spa facilities were lovely especially after a long, hard week at work and we had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

have stayed in this hotel twice in the last fortnight. Each time the welcome at reception was outstanding - so friendly and very welcoming. The room was very spacious with a super kingsize bed and an ensuite with a bath to relax in. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped - luxury bathrobe, toiletries, bottled water and flat screen TV. Had great views over the sea and Royal Troon Golf Course. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent - good selection of dishes and expertly prepared and very well presented. Couldn't fault anything with my stay and really look forward to returning to the Marine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeeman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and liked everything about our stay. From the minute we arrived, the staff at check in, at dinner, at breakfast, in the leisure facility and in general were nice and helpful throughout.
Had dinner in the hotel the second night and the food was excellent and great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
495 reviews
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing