We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again an excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Once again an excellent stay.”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have been to the Piersland House Hotel every year in January for our annual Technical conference for the last five years.
This is the first time I have reviewed it.
Set only a couple of hundred meters from the sea and two golf courses it offers a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay,
The rooms range from well appointed en suite rooms in the main hotel building to rooms in the grounds that are ensuite and have a lounge as well.
The rooms are well appointed and comfortable which are clean with crisp clean linen,
We eat on a full board basis ,
Breakfasts are a combination of buffet and cooked to order. The cooked breakfasts range from kippers,smoked haddock to traditional scottish breakfast the choice is tremendous . Along with tea, coffee and toast.
Lunches are either from the Buffet style lunch which is served daily in the bar area . Many locals come for lunch to enjoy this .
We often get soup and sandwiches delivered to our meeting room.
Evening dinner is absolutely tremendous we eat table dote from a good choice of food in the Red Bowl Restaurant. All the food is freshly produced and always beautifully presented.
All the staff are friendly and courteous . The staff are very human and we always feel welcomed and comfortable in their company.
The bar is well stocked with local beers spirits and drinks from further afield.
The wine list is extensive.
Drinks and wine are typically expensive as in all hotels of this quality.

If staying up around this area i would always use this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are good the rooms in the main hotel are more traditional as the ones in the grounds are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattA185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    191
    38
    19
    10
See reviews for
179
387
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our second visit to The Piersland and I would certainly go back again. We had a warm welcome and indeed all staff were very friendly. Evening meal was delicious and breakfast hit the spot. The room was clean and comfortable and the overall cost for accomodation and food was very reasonable. Lovely gardens and surroundings and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2013

the hotel is lovely in its ambiance and interior. the meal we had was delicious and well presented. the staff were very helpful and considerate.

the room was lovely and very clean, the only thing that i could complain about was the firmness of the bed, i am not used to such a hard bed and found it very uncomfortable. I did mention it to the staff upon leaving and note was taken.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hergenrath, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stopped by at the start of the year with family for lunch. The lunch buffet was for a 4 star hotel very average. After talking to other family member that were there last year the food was just the same no change. I would also like to point out that the room/area were the buffet was presented was a hallway leading to other parts of the hotel(way to toilets, hotel rooms, reception etc) not very hygenic. Sorry but will not be returning

Room Tip: Sorry but lunch buffet not up to scratch for a 4 Star Hotel
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We went to this hotel as we use a sister restaurant the Canny Man frequently and food is always excellent, and we were not disappointed. Food in the Piersland was excellent but while on our first night the service was good but on our second night it was poor, with my husband having to wait for his dessert for over 35 minutes, hence he no longer wanted it. We complained to the head waiter who did apoligise and stated that we would not be charged for the dessert, which we were not. We were staying in one of the bungalows which was tastefully furnished and comfortable. However the heating did not come on in the afternoon until 3pm, hence the lounge took quite a while to heat up. We did request that the heating be put on but it was still 3pm before it came on. Given that my husband is quite frail and I have asthma this was not very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel who have good offers.Rooms in the main hotel some will have seaviews, bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smileyscot
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding reception at this hotel. All staff were very welcoming and friendly. The whole day ran like clockwork despite our contact person being changed only 2 days before the wedding. Michael took charge of the day and he did a fantastic job. He was very attentive to all the small details and made sure we had plenty to eat and drink during the photographs. We were able to completely relax and enjoy the day as everything was taken care of. The food can only be described as amazing. We had eaten in the hotel before our wedding day and it is always of a very high standard. Every course is beautifully presented and portion sizes are generous. We thoroughly enjoyed the food we chose for our meal and guests are still referring to how good it tasted.
One of the bar staff stayed until the early on in the morning to serve those of us that weren't quite ready to turn in. She was very pleasant despite (as we found out the next day) working a breakfast shift a few hours later.
The rooms were lovely. When we came to view the place a couple of years ago, we were shown as rooms were being cleaned so they were not 'on show'. We were quite taken with a management that would be at ease showing rooms that had not been made up. When we stayed, the room was spotless. All presents and cards had been laid out for us in our room (not always the case in every wedding venue). The rooms are spacious and all have lovely views; some overlooking the sea. There are a number of cottages in the 'grounds' which are a good size and nicely decorated.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Staff were very attentive and there was a wide selection of hot and cold foods.
We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone whether it be for a meal, a weekend break or for a wedding. You will be treated very well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A charming hotel, located just across the road from Royal Troon Golf Course and approximately 15 minutes walk from the Town Centre. The hotel has a number of accommodation options in the main building, and the separate lodges and cottages. Visiting family in Troon for 10 days over Christmas and New Year, I opted for the Lodge accommodation. It was modern, tastefully decorated, well maintained and – importantly for a Scottish Winter – well heated. Wifi was complementary.

The hotel bar was very pleasant. Although I didn’t dine in the restaurant on this occasion, had done so with the family earlier in the year and found both the food and service to be very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Property: Piersland House Hotel
Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#1 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing