We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay great food lovely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay great food lovely friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Recommend a nice weekend stay or pop in for food Sunday buffet the best complements to the cook and staff. Excellent cottages for the family or couples near golf course and beaches overall excellent would go again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    191
    38
    19
    10
See reviews for
179
387
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just returned from a delightful 2 day break at this lovely hotel. We had a lovely little cottage in the grounds with perfect facilities, the only problem was the weather was so wet we had to take the car over to the main building for supper but that could not be helped. The hotel was very busy with a wedding and another function but we had a lovely meal in the Walker bar, with plenty of very helpful staff to look after us and it made us have our second night meal there too as the menu was so extensive. The gardens are just gorgeous but unfortunately the weather did not allow us to use them, but we would like to return on another occasion. Thanks to all the staff for making our trip very pleasant.

Room Tip: Travelling with my elderly Mum we had a cottage with disabled facilities to make things easier and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icesk8terglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had our intimate family wedding here and then a party to celebrate with all our friends and family of about 160 guests. The hotel, staff and food are fantastic, nothing was a problem and every detail attended to, rooms were spacious, very clean and an extremely nice place to stay. We would highly recommend the Piersland Hotel for weddings, functions or just for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Standard rooms spacious and well maintained. Lovely grounds and liked the quirky architecture of the building. Hotel has a large emphasis on serving food in its main area which also acts as the thoroughfare to the rooms in the hotel. Lacks resident facilities. No area for residents to sit and relax or have a drink away from the busy area serving food if visting midweek.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuhler, Operations Director at Piersland House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Scottourist,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and your kind comments about the hotel rooms and the grounds. Residents who are looking for somewhere to sit and read or just to have a coffee or other refreshment can use the red bowl lounge 7 days a week.

Kindest regards.

Karel Kuhler
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Firstly, do not consider this hotel for your wedding. It is a nice restaurant/hotel but has put being a wedding venue last. The spaces available to have your wedding are far too small! I was recently at a wedding for 80 there and at least 10 of the guests had to stand at the back for the entire ceremony as there were not enough seats or space! Ridiculous to say the least! This would only be suitable for a wedding of around 40, they need to revise their guest limits!! Also to get to the 'ceremony room' which is a small conservatory, which may I add needs painted, you have to walk through the wedding reception room, spoiling any wow factor for later in the day. There is not enough room for the tables to be laid out and are placed in a zig zag format, making it difficult to get out of your seat to go to the bar or bathroom.
After the ceremony there is no where for guests to go for the drinks reception, the rest of the hotel is full of hotel guests who are not at the wedding which was quite awkward and too be honest a bit of a shambles. The food was fine which then lead to the evening guests arriving, who have to sit out at the conservatory room, they are almost seperate from the wedding and many said they didnt really feel included in the wedding party. I was very disappointed with this not to mention the state of the toilets.
Steer clear!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuhler, Operations Director at Piersland House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear HM,

I am sorry to read your review - you clearly did not have a good experience which is unfortunate.

However, I am surprised, we have an excellent reputation for weddings and easily cater weddings for up to 94 day guests with and additional 76 evening guests bringing the total of guest at night to 170. On average we do between 8 and 15 weddings per month with the average wedding size being 80 with another 70 evening guests. As you can see from the reviews and great feedback we receive, the vast majority of wedding guests and bride and grooms enjoy a fantastic time while at the Piersland. I have been running weddings at the hotel for the past 20 years with a very experienced team of managers, service staff and chefs.

I would be very happy to discuss the matter with you directly if you would like to call me on 01292 314747. My apologies you did not enjoy the wedding you attended.

Yours sincerely,


Karel Kuhler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed in this hotel, and as always had great time. We have previously stayed in lodges and cottages and this time booked a superior room which was excellent. Food very good and staff excellent. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Piersland. On our first stay we also attended a wedding which was so good my Fiance and I have decided to have our wedding there next summer. The rooms are great and the service and friendliness of all staff is excellent. All in all the Piersland is a tremendously welcoming and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestroMcStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Property: Piersland House Hotel
Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing