We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top banana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Splendid place great reception thanks very much to Ruth the manager would recommended anytime. Exceptional in so many ways from food and service to hospitality first time there won't be the last. Very homely. warm and cosy thanks again for a very pleasant evening .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kspacey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed with my wife for one night recently and we selected the hotel as we had previously stayed for a wedding. The room was old and tired compared to the pictures on the website. I was however very cheap and at that price you cant argue too much!

Would probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Arrived at the hotel last Friday for a night away for my hubby's work night out. Was a miserable day when we arrived. Checked in and we were given the superior double room which was lovely and cosy lovely big bed and big room. The bathroom was very big to. We then went for a drink in the bar which we lovely enjoyed a wee class of wine. Breakfast in the morning was very quiet breakfast was good nice and hot and a good choice of food. Notice on the breakfast menu u could get steak which was very unusual. Checkout was nice and quick all in all a lovely cosy hotel would definitely go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank snarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Myself and my partner booked a night away for relaxation at the Piersland Hotel. We made our reservation 1 month in advance of our stay. When we arrived on a cold miserabable night in December we were issued with keys to an outside cottage, when we asked if it would be possible to have a room within the hotel we were told they had had last minute bookings and therefore all rooms within the main hotel were taken. "annoyed as we had booked well in advance and last minute guests had been given prefrence" We entered the cottage to find there was no lighting, no Sky avalaible and with it being outside it was freezing and very basic unlike the rooms within the main hotel which are luxurious. We called reception who then tried to resolve the lighting issue which was obviously a problem as by the time we left this still had not been resolved. After sitting around for a while and been told we definetley could not reloacted to main hotel and would have to be placed in another cottage we deceided we just wanted a refund and we would leave. We were told our booking was made through late rooms and we could not receive a refund, our booking was in actual fact booked through Piersland Hotel reservations direct. We asked to speak to Managment who lets just put it who were not helpful at all and not very accomodating re the problems we had had. Thank goodness i had a copy of hotel confirmation to confrim booking was made through the hotel direct therefore they had no option but to over refund. turned out not to be a night of relaxation but a night spent driving, wasted journey/petrol. Spent the night in my own bed after all that! ha ha What a dissapointment.

Room Tip: Please make sure your request a room within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuhler, Operations Director at Piersland House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Nicole D,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. First of all my sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.

We are in the middle of our festive season and as you weren't with the party night due in that evening, we had given you a complimentary upgrade from a standard double room to one of our suites, which are away from all the music and traffic. Unfortunately when you entered your room and switched on the lights, 1 of the bulbs blew, tripping 1 of the breakers. This took longer then a few minutes to resolve during which time the manager offered you a complimentary drink in the bar.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Yours sincerely,


Karel Kuhler
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I used to come here occasionally for lunch which was always fantastic. In-fact we were so impressed by the food, the grounds and the general upkeep of the hotel that we decided to have our wedding day here, we spoke to reception about having a look around which was no problem - one of the managers showed us around and invited us to a wedding fayre. On the day of the fayre we booked our wedding,

We got married June 2013, we had a wonderful day (even the weather was brilliant). Our wedding cake was set up outside on the decking area where we cut the cake and had many lovely photographs taken - doesn't happen often in Scotland.

Our guests raved about our menu we had picked (we were a little picky but nothing the piersland couldn't handle). We wanted haggis for a starter but something light - we had haggis bon bons, they were fantastic and the sauce was well tasty. Everyone commented on how well cooked and presented our chicken and lamb dishes were - again very tasty and no complaints - im surprised everyone had room for the yummy desserts. Breakfast the next morning was also FAB so much choice to choose from.

This hotel is a little gen, exceptional value for money and i would certainly recommend it for any occasion.

We were also pleasantly surprised on return from our honeymoon we had a letter from the hotel offering us a free overnight stay within the next twelve months, which we think is a very nice touch, we look forward to staying for our first anniversary.

We would just like to say thank you to all the staff, they were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Special mentions to Alistair (our master of ceremonies), Robert, Angeline, Samantha, bar staff and chefs (sorry we cant name everyone) thank you for making it an extremely special day for us.

Mr and Mrs Vickerman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsVee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a short 2 day, Dinner, B & B break in a hotel where our family have enjoyed a previous stay and was recommended by them a 'your sort of hotel'.

The bedroom we were given was excellent; clean, warm, comfortable with a very modern en-suite. The food was also everything that we had hoped for and more and the table service was first class.

The only shortcoming was the absence of a lift to the bedrooms which I am aware of because of a bad knee. However, reception staff, without having to be asked, took our cases to the room.

We would recommend this hotel and would hope to return some time.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the rooms at the rear of the hotel back on to the ventilation system extractor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Piersland-a very small affair just the two of us and two members of staff (Robert and Samantha) very kindly acted as our witnesses. We stayed at one of the cottages which was excellent and really comfortable. Everything was fantastic and the staff worked hard to ensure we had a wonderful day. Food was first class and we are looking forward to returning.

Fiona and Colin, Glasgow

Room Tip: The cottages are spacious with a separate lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing