We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a nice drive down to troon we decided to go to piersland house for lunch which was very nice all waiting staff very nice but the woman at reception had a shocking attitude mentioned to her she was a bit grumpy she just seemed to have some problems ?????i think someone in management should have word not a nice attitude remember grumpy!!!!!!!! CUSTOMERS pay your wages ????.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    195
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
182
392
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay, especially if one is playing golf at Royal Troon (just across the road). An old hotel that has been updated well, including good Wi-fi and very good food for breakfast and dinner, the main building was constructed in late 1800s for the grandson of the founder of Johnnie Walker Whisky. The hotel bar is called Walkers. Even though it is not a large hotel, there was a wedding reception over the weekend, The main building is a nice tudor with lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are on the second and third floor with lots of stairs to climb. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel has a fascinating history and architecture which makes it well worth stopping off in for a spot of food or an overnight stay. The house was built in 1895 for the grandson of the founder of Johnny Walker - yes, the famous whisky brand, and the owner served as managing director of the company.

From an architectural perspective the house was designed by a famous Scottish Architect, and as a listed building has retained the majority of its regional features, including wood panelling, fireplaces and sandstone carved stonework.

On my arrival I was a little concerned to find that I was being located in a chalet in the grounds. However, i need not have been concerned. Unlike some hotels where ‘chalets’ is a by-word for the cheap seats, this is most certainly not the case with Piersland. The chalet room I enjoyed was newly built to a high standard of finish and specification, was well appointed very comfortable and in addition had excellent wifi available for guests. I enjoyed an excellent night’s sleep and the complementary water and fruit were very well appreciated - this attention to detail really counts.

I took the opportunity to eat in the restaurant and enjoyed a sea food grill followed with fresh fruit salad. The portions were ample, and the food well presented and of a high standard. My only issue was that the service was slower than what i would have preferred, although i had booked a table for 7.15, there was a noticeable delay before my order was taken and then a further delay before my food arrived 8.00. I was originally seated in the verandah area and then moved into the main restaurant. My only reasoning was that as a wedding party was being held, the staff must have been really busy.

Breakfast was superb, with a wide range of buffet options available, as well as cooked items from the menu, Including steak for a £10.50 supplement. apparently American visitors are into this idea. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - again a generous portion and amazing taste.

Overall a very pleasing stay, and a hotel that I intend to visit and stay in again.

Room Tip: Go for the new Chalet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arriving mid afternoon we were greeted with a very warm, friendly welcome, enquiring if we'd had a good journey. However, this experience is very much based on which lady is on duty, pick the wrong time and you will receive the pole opposite of the welcome we received. Having arrived during a clearly busy lunchtime period, although served quickly, it was clear that simply ordering a sandwich was not the done thing and was clearly not to the waiting staff's liking, even though we were clearly guests and not passing trade. That aside the quality and freshness of the sandwich was excellent.

The room itself, one of the little lodges, was very roomy and clean, although several of the light bulbs were blown - a fault not detected until I returned that evening. As has been mentioned previously, by other reports, the bed was indeed very comfortable indeed. The bug bear of this room were the TV's, neither of which provided a very good clarity of picture - the real issue is having to spend a considerable amount of time trying to find the SKY Channels only to find the advertised list was simply not available. The weakness of signal gave a very poor standard of picture all round.

Refreshed, after a great night's sleep, having to endure a cold shower because there was simply no water was unacceptable. This was where the other side of reception became apparent as the aforementioned lady, firstly barely looked up, and secondly couldn't care less about the issue. It was either all used by others or perhaps I didn't let it run for long enough! immediately behind me were another 2 guests looking equally as annoyed at myself.

So apart from this member of Staff the Piersland is indeed the perfect place to stay when visiting Troon.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a lodge with a high number, as the 5am delivery truck will wake you for an early star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last week and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the bed was really comfortable. The food was great and very good value. As a 70th birthday treat it was just the thing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieb210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Piersland for two nights last week. As usual everything was excellent. We go for a short stay at least once a year to Troon and love the hotel.
The staff are friendly the breakfast cooked just to your requirements. Evening meals have a large selection, grounds beautiful.
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is an old family home, formerly one of the Johnnie Walkers Whisky Family homes, close to the world famous Troon golf course if you like that sort of thing (I don't). Choice of lovely rooms and chalets. I have stayed here several times over the past year or two and will continue to do so so please don't book as I might not be able to get a room LOL !!

Room Tip: All are good just tell the staff what you are after !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 246charlie_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
865 reviews
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Property: Piersland House Hotel
Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#1 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing