We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Comfort”
Review of Sandhill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandhill House
Ranked #1 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What can we say but Thank you! Peter, Elaine and their son Zack are the most wonderful hard working people who truly care about your happiness and comfort.
We arrived at the Sandhill house for 3 nights. This was our first stay of the first leg of a 10 rounds in 10 days golf trip. Upon arrival, the front door was locked so we rang the buzzer. Elaine immediately was right there to welcome us into her beautiful family home. After introductions Elaine offered to upgrade us into their Mews Cabin, which was available for 2 of our 3 nights. What a treat. The Mews cabin is basically a 3 bedroom home with a kitchen, washer and dryer, Living Room, and 3 gorgeous bedrooms upstairs. These were the 2 best nights of the 11 nights we stayed in Scotland! In the morning we made our way downstairs to the breakfast room for a full Scottish breakfast. This is where we met Anne. Anne and Elaine gave us a wonderful meal. One of the highlights for me was the fresh pressed cloudy apple juice! Absolutely delicious! Upon finishing breakfast we made our way to the golf course but not before getting a hug from both Anne and Elaine.
I already miss the Sandhill House and am very excited to visit again. Thank you so very much!!!

Room Tip: The Mews Cabin is wonderful. Especially the bedroom facing Troon and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkZ414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a find! Always hate sharing these wee gems with the rest of the world but the owners deserve it.Great situation - close to Troon but feels far enough away. Accept dogs. Gorgeous room - although mine was a smaller one it was perfect. Peaceful. Wasn't aware of other guests. Breakfast wonderful. Hosts friendly and helpful. Neighbours (ponies and lamas) a delight. Cannot fault this wonderful B&B. Only down side was I was only there for one night. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

While a little hard to find, it's worth it. A corner of tranquility and charm. The value is compelling and the ambience relaxing. The owner has done a terrific job renovating the elegant mansion and is very warm and helpful. It would be a terrific place for a family with small children, as all sorts of farm animals out and about, room to run, and places to explore. We stayed here for four nights for the same cost of one night at the luxury golf resort down the coast. If you don't care about cost and love pretention, try Turnberry. If you want to stay in a warm and welcoming home, stay at Sandhill. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: The suites are oversized with excellent windows, views and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forecaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ive been using this place for over 6 years now ever since the local 5 star Seaside Hotel prices started climbing. It offers much more than a traditional b&b and Elaine the proprietor provides excellent service. If you like a traditional Scottish breakfast or are more fussy, you wont be disappointed. The surrounding gardens, stables, farm animals and countryside are a joy for a stroll. if youre a golfer, this location could not be better. Excellent restaurants also nearby. Just read the guest book comments from all over the world and youll immediately feel at home. Already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The welcome one receives at Sandhill House is top notch, huge big rooms , great breakfast , fantastic views , lovely ponies and unusual breeds of fowl leave us with memories we will cherish for years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wexford747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed overnight as we were at my nephew's wedding in a hotel nearby. We cannot fault this lovely B&B the accommodation was fabulous,spotless, very roomy & with a brilliant sea view. The full breakfast was cooked to order & it was delicious. We were so impressed we have booked again for a wedding we are going to next month!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a fantastic four night stay in Troon. We had a family suite which slept four and a double room for the grandparents. The house is delightful, being restored lovingly by the family who now own it. The views are fantastic out over Royal Troon golf course and then out to the sea. Our children adored the place with all the animals, my son in particular was fond of Simon the horse. There were also ducks, hens, alpacas and a loveable dog! During our time there we went to Culzean Castle and travelled north and south up the coast. The breakfasts were great, a wide selection to just help yourself from and then a cooked breakfast to order, which included traditional Scottish as well as omelettes. Nothing was too much trouble for Elaine, she was a lovely hostess. We would definitely recommend Sandhill House if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrykersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
2 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
644 reviews
5 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill House

Address: Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDHILL HOUSE ... Bed and Breakfast with style ...A huge Victorian red sandstone house with a warm heart, set in 9 acres of glorious gardens and woodland with spectacular seaviews. Sandhill House is an ideal location for visitors who want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. Golfers find this a first class location, as it is a few minutes from Royal Troon Golf Course. Several other fine golf courses, including Prestwick & Turnberry being a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhill House Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing