We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Got two-night special deal. Room 16 with the fancy name Glenfiddich .Mattress was almost at floor level. Springs could be felt when lying down. Shabby bed cover. Bed hard against the wall so had to climb over spouse to get into bed or visit the toilet at night. Cheapest ever orange juice and stewed coffee at breakfast. Greasy cooked breakfast only unless you wanted cereal and toast. Staff were very cheery and helpful. Can't imagine anyone paying full price for this Hotel

Room Tip: Don't accept room 16 untill the mattress is replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    127
    77
    46
    53
See reviews for
39
246
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dunbartonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Visited with my husband and 5 yrs old grand daughter. Due to price (Glasgow's Great Deal) we weren't expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. Very welcoming reception on arrival, given keys to room and instructions/directions for dinner/breakfast, also given directions to bar/restaurant etc. Room was clean, warm and spacious. After leaving luggage in room we went to bar for lunch, food was magnificent! Seafood salad is highly recommended! I had this twice during our stay, my husband recommends the steak pie and the Chimichangas! Excellent kids menu, my grand daughter who is usually fussy when eating out was more than happy with the kids menu, this catered for a meal or snack, i.e. soup, sandwich & some chips. My grand daughter ate very well during our stay due to the sea air/cold weather. Full breakfast was well cooked, non greasy, plenty of food available whether you wanted the cooked breakfast or not. We had a very pleasant stay and chose to eat here on our second night as the food was so fresh/good (also 25% discount).
Even if you are not looking for overnight accommodation I would highly recommend this place for a meal! Will definitely visit again!

Also visited the beauty parlour next door, 'Browns', had a manicure and shellac for £12, £5 for grand daughter. The only negative about our stay was the good old Scottish weather, very, very cold and windy, (snow in April)!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 9, Grouse Suite. Very warm and spacious, had to reduce heating at night. Good sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we are just back after weekend with another two couples. we did have a good deal £69 per couple two nighs B & B and evening meal first night. rooms very big,& clean.Decor aged but hey what do u want your only want head down in a clean room at night. Our heating wasnt working but the rest of hotel was like a sauna. Food was absolute first class, i wouldnt hesitate going back even for a meal if in area. Definatley very deceiving when you go by the ouside. I look forward to returning at some point.

Room Tip: Room 2 is right next to cleaners cupboard and they are a bit noisy in mornig very early.we put sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDrundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I agree the deal at £69 was brilliant value and the food & staff were very good but some of the rooms are a disgrace. We were allocated room 8 which was just acceptable but a few quid spent could make a big improvement. Silly little things like metres of tv cable lying on the window sill, rawl plugs left on show in the walls, cheap plastic signs stuck everywhere instead of on one board. However, my friends were given room 15 which is at the top of the stairs and before they even got there they had to get past a very visible hole in the hall ceiling! Much worse room that ours and I requested they be moved straight away. To be fair to the manager this was done immediately with no fuss but they then had a much smaller room at the rear of the hotel instead of the rooms we had booked. Some investment in the bedrooms is long overdue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

At first we were anxious on approach to the anchorage hotel after reading some of the mixed reviews. We got a deal for two nights on todaysgreatdeal.co.uk for 69.00 with two course dinner and drink on our first evening and breakfast both mornings. First of all brilliant value.
No where near as bad as what people make out!
The bar area is definitely where the money has been getting spent we thought. Lovely homely pub. The bar is a ship which is cool. Lots of nautical decorations. FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!! Some of the best food I've ever tasted. Service was brilliant especially considering it was easter weekend and the place was packed! And the service continued throughout the weekend. The room was fine mainly. Clean etc, a little old fashioned but ok. However there were a couple of issues. It was just two of us but we were in what looked like a family room with two beds. The single bed was ok but the double was absolutely awful. Mega soft, springs sticking out etc. NOT comfortable at all. Im sure if we had said anything we would have Been moved but even when I booked I had gotten the 2nd last room. So I doubt there would have Been another room but to be fair we didn't ask. Also the towel rail in bathroom was hanging off the wall :-s
All in all tho we enjoyed our stay. Real pitty about the beds. I'd still say it's a good place tho.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcroft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We are just back from a long weekend spent at the Anchorage Hotel in Troon. Room was nice and bed was comfy, staff could not be faulted and were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked for you upon arrival, and meals at night were beautiful. Full marks to this hotel. We will definately be back.

Kate and John Dumbarton

Room Tip: We were in room 4, bed was comfy although heard a couple of complaints from other rooms regarding lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatiecooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnberry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went for a two night break with my wife-Staff very friendly and
lovely big room. But hotel is very tired and needs a lot of maintenance redecoration, food average bar stuff - ate out second
night. No choice for breakfast ,greasy fry up. Would not go at full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Property: The Anchorage Hotel
Address: 149 Templehill, Troon KA10 6BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Troon
The Anchorage Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing