We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, maybe a bit pricey though...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My family and I have been going to The Anchorage for years now and the food has always been excellent. Recently though I have found it to bea bit expensive for what it is. I mentioned this place to a friend recently and his response was the same "good food but overpriced" which prompted me to submit this review.
I've never used the hotel facilities

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyinayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here under a groupon deal. Rome we were allocated was a family sized room, double and single bed with a couch facing a tv. Alongside a cracking sea view. Yes the room could have done with a lick of paint, so what. The service received throughout our duration at this hotel was fabulous. Checked in nicely, offered a reservation for dinner. Service at dinner was wonderful, not only checked on bit asks if we required anything else. As for the quality of dinner it was beyond good. Best cooked/value steak I've had in a long time. Overall really enjoyed my time here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lehxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

just back from the anchorage hotel had such a good time the staff are lovely and the food and service was brill, the rooms are basic but good value for the money. we done the groupon deal which included breakfast and a bottle of wine, great atmosphere would defiantly go back. saw some other reviews that people were complaining, but seriously what do u expect for £20

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a voucher deal which we received as a present.we wouldn't have chosen too stay at this hotel ourselves and having read some previous reviews we weren't completely looking forward too it,however when we arrived we were dealt with quickly and efficiently and directed too our room which was number 4.Our room was spacious,comfy,warm with tea and coffee making facilities and a view of the sea across the road.As previous reviews stated the hotel could do with a little more tlc but bearing in mind the building is over 200 years old it's not too bad.As part of our deal we were entitled to an evening meal in the bar downstairs which was lovely although the choice of menu was pretty limited.We also had breakfast the next morning which again was lovely with pleasant service.Overall we had a pleasant stay with good service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdedwards2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Been many times, really love the food and think the menu is great, the chicken burritos are just amazing. The only thing that let's it down is the service, can be quite slow, depending on who's on. However it doesn't stop me from enjoying the meal

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ellioteaglesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have never stayed in this hotel but eat here regularly. The food is great - good value and generous portions. Extensive menu includes seafood specials and Mexican dishes. Good choice of beers and whiskies too.
This is the oldest hotel in Troon and has tons of atmosphere with a boat-shaped bar, lots of nautical themed curios, funny quotes etc. We took some Russian visitors there and they loved it.
I personally find the TVs a bit distracting but I guess the customers like it - sports and music channels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ronboy_EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at hotel with Groupon. Room was cosy although could have used a lick of paint. Staff were friendly and helpful.Had drinks and food in the busy bar. Looking forward to returning again in the Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,090 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Address: 149 Templehill, Troon KA10 6BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Troon
The Anchorage Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing