We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cherries Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Homely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at The Cherries in late December and had a wonderful two nights in this comfortable and quiet B&B in a lovely residential area of Troon.
The house is situated in a beautifully kept garden and everything about it is homely as well as being relaxing.
Margaret Tweedie, the owner is a splendid hostess and very helpful with tips about the best places to visit nearby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Cherries and would recommend it to anyone who wants
a few days in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A warm welcome. Spacious rooms. Good facilities. Breakfast menu is good well prepared and presented. Would recommend and have no hesitation in returning for another stay. Driveway entrance somewhat narrow, especially for reversing out of but that is a minor point

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoteNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights at the cherries and I felt sad leaving today.
Margaret was a perfect host. We had the twin room which was decorated with character and charm with an amazing view over the golf course. It was quiet and peaceful and an excellent base to explore the area. Breakfast was delicious and the service was A+.
I would return and recommend. Thank you :D

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Coming to Troon from the USA for a family wedding, we stayed at The Cherries one night. Coming off a long flight, we wanted our first night to be easier. Then we relocated to Margaret's self catering unit, Seascape, for a week. Both places were excellent. The Cherries has beautiful gardens. Seascape has a fantastic view of the sea. It is right on the water, across from a children's playground, the beach and the shoreline. Downtown Troon is within easy walking distance. Margaret is a superb hostess, helpful and friendly. We would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Seascape is on the 3rd floor but the stairs were easy for me (I am 67). Parking is limited but the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a lovely stay. Margaret couldn't have done enough for us. It is a beautiful home - would love to live there. Beautiful gardens. Big room and very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Location was excellent and very quiet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYR , SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A fantastic stay - a beautiful breakfast, only surpassed by the warmth of the hospitality.
Visited Troon for a 70th Birthday Party at the lovely Lochgreen House Hotel, for which The Cherries is ideally located.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL-BonnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Lovely room and Margaret was a great host- anything we asked she dealt with quickly and efficiently. Lovely breakfast overlooking the beautiful garden. Close to the town and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzysue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherries Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherries Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cherries Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Ottoline Drive, Troon KA10 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house and gardens in quiet location in cherry tree lined drive with parking for 5 cars. Backing on to the 3 municipal golf courses we are also only 1 ml from Royal Troon G.C. We would love to share our home with you and help plan day trips to the Isle of Arran, Culzean and Kelburn Castles, Glasgow 27 mls and Edinburgh 70 mls. Come as a stranger, leave as a friend ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cherries Bed And Breakfast Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing