We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very clean”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel has a 3 star grading from Visit Scotland and I would suggest it would need modernisation to achieve any higher. The room we had was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. The welcome was ok. It would have been helpful if we had been shown to the room and told a bit more about the hotel and the facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from a midweek, overnight stay at the South Beach.This is a very comfortable,family run hotel.The staff were very mannerly and helpful,nothing was a problem to any of them.Karen on the desk was really good and made you feel very welcome.
The location is near the beach and requires a 10min stroll to the main shops and eating places.
The hotel itself is well presented and clean. We didnt eat when we arrived but I can honestly say the breakfast we had before we left was the best I have ever had on any stay in Britain! Yes it was that good!Bar prices were reasonable compared to some of the other pubs in Troon.We were charged £6.35 for a pint of Stella & a large bottle of flavoured cider.Later on we were charged £7.75 for similar drinks in a local pub!!
Being a golfer myself the memorabilia in the bar was interesting to say the least. Severanio Ballesteros` visor from the 82 open after staying is one of quite a few. In fact the waiter that served breakfast told a very funny story of the famous American golfer Payne Stewart being caught trying to climb up one of the rone pipes to get back into his room after a late night out! Lol ( the man was a legend ).
Looking forward to a return visit early next year to this well run hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed three nights on a guys golf trip. It's close to Royal Troon, and the staff were friendly and helpful, but otherwise this is a threadbare, one star property. No elevator so we had to schlep our heavy bags up three flights of stairs. We appreciated having access to the golf club storage room but it was very messy - not sure how long it had been since anyone cleaned up in there. I'm not sure there are better options in Troon though - next time I would try staying in Prestwick.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FalconTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have just stayed for three days at the hotel and found it to be very customer focused and comfortable. Nothing too much for the host and staff. We ate every night in the hotel and found the food to be very good and well presented. Rooms were comfortable and well annointed . The hotel is typically scottish with decore and especially hospitality. I noted on one review about dated and worn but doesnt that reflect usage. It was clean and hospitalable . what else do you want for the very acceptable price. Breakfast included was marvellous and well proportioned. Centrally situated. Town 5 minute walk. and the beach and esplanade just ax the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swlincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Can't say enough good things about the helpful staff and pleasant accommodations. We were a group of eight golfers who stayed for four nights while playing golf at the nearby courses, i.e., Royal Troon, Old Prestwick, and Western Gailes. The front desk personnel were especially helpful with changes to our golf reservations, as well as dinner reservations at nearby restaurants. We had two evening meals at the hotel, where the menu was varied and the food was excellent. We also enjoyed the full Scottish breakfasts in the morning; a good way to start a long day of golf. We booked almost a year in advance, and got several very large rooms. We each had single beds, but doubles or queen beds for each person would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the third floor overlooking the beach and the water.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golfer7481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed with my partner and booked because i'd been there previously. It was not that expensive but it was disappointing for the price. i think £100 per night for two people and to get a 3 single beds and not a double is a joke, so 0 for customer service.

We paid for bed and breakfast but it was not worth making the effort to get up, overall the food was basic, the bar poorly stocked. We paid £10 for doritos covered in salsa with melted cheese, and scampi that was very smelly - the basics were poor.

Sorry guys, sort it out, you have sea facing views but terrible management.

ps. the beds were hard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hungrymarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked the hotel for a saturday evening meal with our family and friends, to celebrate our gold wedding.The watt family and staff made that a wonderful event with great personal service, wonderful food and seating set out in the conservatory for our party of 16.Attended us hand and foot throughout their very busy evening. We had three couples staying over in rooms which were very adequate with lovely views, and the breakfast service once again was superb.None of our party had any doubts with regard to future bookings and recommendations to friends.

Room Tip: We had front facing rooms on 1st. floor with super views out to sea.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing