We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family run hotel”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was my 5th (week long stay) here at the South Beach.
The rooms are warm, well equipped and extremely clean. The food, well what can I say? It is faultless! I really cannot tell you how good it is! Breakfast is fantastic and in the evening, The meals are huge, well priced and probably the best I have ever had. You will not be dissapointed. If the website shows the hotel being full, give them a ring as often they still have rooms available!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davel2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We go toTroon quite a lot as it is a short drive from Glasgow.We do not usually stay overnight but got a great deal for this hotel. Our room was big and bright and spacious and very clean.Can't understand the negative comments of Burnsave. didn't stay in same South Beach hotel as us! Breakfast was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just returned fromm a two night stay at the South Beach Hotel in Troon,having driven up in terrible weather it was a relief to arrive at the Hotel where we got a very friendly and warm welcome, we were allocated to our respective rooms(party of 7) which were all of a very good standard, we then all met back up in the bar for drinks our respaective husbands also had sandwiches and of course chips which they thoroughly enjoyed. When the gentlemen had left for the nigh the Ladies had dinner in the restaurant and where very well looked after by all the staff,we had a really nice meal and decided we would eat there the second night also.The next day was really sunny so we all wnet off to the Falkirk Wheel ahich was a very pleasant and interesting day out.Would reccomend this hotel to anyone and will return again soon.

Room Tip: Front rooms which overlook the beach and Ailsa Craig.we had room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djvccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Six cars and their owners and partners enjoyed a brilliant motoring weekend based at the South Beach Hotel in Troon. The hotel staff welcomed us back for a second visit and everyone enjoyed the comfortable rooms and good food. With excellent secure parking it proved yet again a perfect base for travelling up through Glasgow and Loch Lomond and back through the beautiful countryside in Dumfries and Galloway.

Room Tip: front rooms overlook the seafront giving a wonderful panoramic vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel in August 2012. A very disappointing standard of rooms as follows:
Kettle in room had dodgy power cord had to hold it to connect into kettle room 214

Bedroom doors all chipped and previous locks holes left in doors in storage cupboard Next to our rooms. Also found large cobwebs next to the door above214

Carpet worn away on lobby area around radiators on floor 214/215 rooms, also bedroom furniture in lobby with a Hoover next to it.

Bedroom furniture all chipped and marked. In one of the rooms taps needed to be replaced on the bath and sink.

The hotel really needs to be refreshed with its fittings and fixtures needs to update urgently for the price it charges

Breakfast room looks tired. Overall breakfast was of a poor standard. The portions were very large and the staff were very friendly.

Bedroom doors don't seem strong enough my room had a Yale lock, latch and twist Handel. The bathroom in my room had a mixture of fittings eg: chrome down lights, chrome handles on the toilet and brass door hooks on both sides of the bath room door. Also 2 chairs in my room one had a chunk of wood missing and the seat cloth was worn.

Staff are great but the hotel lets it's self down with its charges eg room service a £5 surcharge. (during restaurant opening times)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burnsave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. Staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a spacious room with great views out to Arran and the Ailsa Craig. Excellent breakfast that really set you up for the day. Short walk into Troon town centre but also a good location for a run down the coast to Turnberry and don't miss the Electric Brae, brought out the child in me! Would/ will happily make a return visit to South Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boston002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed as part of a 'mature gentlemen's' bowling tour. The staff were excellent - young, helpful and patient. My bedroom was a high-ceilinged, roomy small double being used as a single - the furniture was a bit dated and the room was located over a function room. On one night (only) a lively,noisy wedding reception was in full swing until midnight. The food was very good, especially the breakfasts, the dinners were usually quite good but on two occasions the meat was dry (chicken/steak & ale pie). The hotel are used to dealing with touring clubs and can be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 203 if you want a nice view and a quiet nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryanslater103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing