We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In safe hands”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In safe hands”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

When booking in a party of 30 visually impaired people for an afternoon including high tea, you do have some trepidation!
However, no worries. From the intial phone booking and to the evening of departure the staff were
helpful,friendly and reliable. The high tea selection was varied with extra tea,coffee and cakes!
A real pleasure to know this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 768newhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    85
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
69
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

used hotel on our way to express ferry to Larne. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable and whole hotel was decorated to a high standard. Easy parking and access (disabled). Good choice at breakfast in sunny room. Triple room on ground floor was very handy.

Room Tip: Contact hotel about disabled facilities to ensure you get the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimglenisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed for one night en-route to isle of arran with our two little dogs. The accommodation was perfect. We had a large, ground floor room which had patio doors leading onto a little seating area; which also allowed easy access to our car, hence we did not need to walk through the hotel with the dogs or luggage. The hotel is very clean yet warm and welcoming -The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was superb. Sadly we only stayed the one night but wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed two nights to break our trip home from Fort William. It is a brilliant place to stay.
We had the executive double room, ample space, lovely ensuite, patio doors leading out to a little seatng area.
Private parking onsite.
All the seating areas are furnished to a high standard. Dining areas are lovely. Bar area with tv. Excellent food beautifully presented. Lovely staff. About five minutes accross small road and there is the seafront. A walk into town probably fifteen minutes, not much too see in the town, but the grassy areas and beach are great. Troon is known for it's golf courses. Some nice eating places in the town .

Room Tip: Definitely the executive double ground floor. It is quiet , althuogh there is no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just spent last weekend playing golf in Troon and stayed at the South Beach. This is an excellent hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are good, clean and well furnished - tea/coffee making facilities, television etc. En suite bathroiom was small, but adequate and very clean. The food was excellent, varied and plemtiful. The bar areas were excellent, with a great atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrmtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of March 2013. I had always known that the South Beach was something of a Troon icon, but was nevertheless delighted with the quality of the accommodation, the frendliness and efficiency of the staff, and the superb food. Well done to all. I hope that the owners are proud of you. For discerning travellers, request the ground floor room 229, if it is available. The most comfortable hotel room in which we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location, plenty of parking, good food - in fact sometimes too much. Return visit so I requested the same room! Good value for money. Room was spacious, comfortable and the facilities were good. Hospitality tray & quality toiletries provided. Housekeeping was very efficient and made sure that the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing