We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Originally visitors to the hotel in 2006, after only one visit we decided that this is where we would love to have our wedding and that we did. In 2008 we booked out the entire hotel for our wedding and to allow our guests to relax and know that should he wish to stay the rooms were available to them. t also allowed us to have another big get together for breakfast the next morning.

Stewart and his family pulled out all the stops and I can fail them on nothing. They most definatily went above and beyond and we could not fault the venue or the staff.

Highly recommend the hotel and their staff x

Room Tip: No problem with ANY of the rooms x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    84
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
69
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Situated just outside the centre of town the comfortable rooms are welcoming but within easy walking distance. This hotel offers a completely stress free break which is made possible by the superb efforts of the owner Stuart & his daughter Vicky who supervise a young and enthusiastic staff where nothing is too much trouble for them.

The menu in the restaurant for the evening meal offers a delicious choice while you will have more limited options for breakfast. If you like seafood try the 'Posh fish and chips', I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Even though there was a large function on in the hotel during my stay I was not disturbed and heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

One night stay arranged last minute. Very pleasant and helpful reception staff, sorted a room at a good rate for single person. Immaculate , spacious room and great service from friendly breakfast staff,thanks a lot.

Room Tip: don't expect the local seagulls to respect your need for a lie-in! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatbetter48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

When booking in a party of 30 visually impaired people for an afternoon including high tea, you do have some trepidation!
However, no worries. From the intial phone booking and to the evening of departure the staff were
helpful,friendly and reliable. The high tea selection was varied with extra tea,coffee and cakes!
A real pleasure to know this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 768newhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

used hotel on our way to express ferry to Larne. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable and whole hotel was decorated to a high standard. Easy parking and access (disabled). Good choice at breakfast in sunny room. Triple room on ground floor was very handy.

Room Tip: Contact hotel about disabled facilities to ensure you get the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimglenisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed for one night en-route to isle of arran with our two little dogs. The accommodation was perfect. We had a large, ground floor room which had patio doors leading onto a little seating area; which also allowed easy access to our car, hence we did not need to walk through the hotel with the dogs or luggage. The hotel is very clean yet warm and welcoming -The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was superb. Sadly we only stayed the one night but wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed two nights to break our trip home from Fort William. It is a brilliant place to stay.
We had the executive double room, ample space, lovely ensuite, patio doors leading out to a little seatng area.
Private parking onsite.
All the seating areas are furnished to a high standard. Dining areas are lovely. Bar area with tv. Excellent food beautifully presented. Lovely staff. About five minutes accross small road and there is the seafront. A walk into town probably fifteen minutes, not much too see in the town, but the grassy areas and beach are great. Troon is known for it's golf courses. Some nice eating places in the town .

Room Tip: Definitely the executive double ground floor. It is quiet , althuogh there is no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing