We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with fantastic service”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with fantastic service”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Our golf group (8 family and friends) stayed two nights here while in Scotland on a golf trip - was very impressed with the accommodations, service and quality of treatment we received.

If in the area, highly recommend that you stay at the South Beach Hotel.

Dick Sargent
Greenville, SC USA

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsarg3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    86
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
72
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My wife and I stayed for one night en-route to Ireland via the ferry. The South Beach is old but has a lot of character, very helpful staff and a terrific restaurant. Our room overlooked the beach. The facilities were tired but everything worked and we were extremely comfortable. Most enjoyable and some of the best golf course in the world down the road.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed at the South Beach in late August 2009 when up for my Aunt and Uncle's Ruby Wedding for which the function was held in the hotel. No serious complaints at all. There was my wife and I and our six month old son. We were always going to arrive late due to circumstances and arrived half an hour after the function had actually started. No problems at all at check in where they were expecting us, knew we would be late, and didn't hold us up with any paperwork. Just a yes, we know who you are, here's your key, just head for your room. They had arranged a travel cot in the room for us and everything was set up. When we actually got down to the function we were two courses behind the rest and the staff couldn't have been more efficient in taking orders and letting us catch up, which we'd done by the end of main course.

We had late night drinks in the bar and that was no problem at all. I couldn't speak highly enough about all the staff we dealt with through the weekend. Nothing was a problem, all were helpful, all had a smile on their face.

Dinner was lovely, breakfast the next morning was fine. I can't comment on value for money because we discovered my mum and dad had paid the bill for us when they paid their own as a gift so I don't actually know what my bill was. I find it hard to believe it wasn't good value though.

On the very minor criticism list: The room was a fair walk from the reception which in fairness was probably deliberate to get a family room in a quiet part but meant tramping a fair distance with all the bags of items you need when travelling with a baby. There's no lift! The shower in our room wasn't the greatest I've ever used, sounded like an airplane taking off and wasn't the warmest. And there were no biscuits with the tea and coffee available in the rooms.

All being pretty picky though. Very happy with the hotel overall.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyline_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Recently, my wife and I spent 3 nights at the South Beach Hotel. The owner, management staff, front desk people, even the housekeepers, are very warm, accomodating and , in our case, terrific problem solvers. Having traveled extensively over the years, we think that the SBH is the most user friendly place we have ever stayed.

Form Stuart and Jonathan right on down, they are terrific. Stay there, you won't be sorry.

Bill and Pam Gough
Moraga, California

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Myself and my husband stayed at the South Beach Hotel during the Open Golf in Turnberry. We paid over the odds as the hotel had hiked its prices for the occasion. Despite this, we were happy to find a nearby hotel. The bedroom we were given was spacious. The beds were very comfortable (we booked a double but got twin beds - mere detail). The bathroom was a bit dated. The shower was quite weak and the shower curtain was stained. The toiletries were really minimalist - less than what you'd expect in a decent 2 star. The towels were rather ragged and grey. One had a hole in it! Nevertheless, we had a good night's sleep. The breakfast was adequate - and it was nice to have it in the conservatory. The cooked food felt like it had been sitting around for a while and was over cooked.
On departure, the staff tried to over charge me - which I didn't like. It was a clerical mistake which they accepted immediately.
Overall, this is an OK hotel and has a dated Scottish charm about it. We didn't eat there, and regretted it. The local Indian wasn't much to write home about and the food in the hotel looked excellent.
With a bit of attention to detail, this could be a really gorgeous hotel. As it is, it is OK.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We chose the South Beach because the Marine Hotel where we have normally stayed in the past has changed its policy and no longer allows dogs. The staff were very considerate and had given us a large ground floor room with patio access to an excellent garden. The beach is only two minutes walk away. So overall, our dog was pretty well catered for.
Breakfast was quite good but could have been a lot better. Quality of the sausage and black pudding was dubious although the bacon and (two) eggs were excellent. The orange juice (powdered?) was naff.
Overall, we found the hotel to be friendly, well located and offering good value for money. The resident's lounge was an experience in itself - felt like stepping back about a hundred years in time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

As part of a group of nine (50 yrs+) golfers I stayed at the South Beach during a four day trip to Troon. The South Beach is ideally located in Troon and is within easy reach of numerous excellent courses in and around the town. This hotel is really well set up for golfers. We endured heavy rain and gale force winds (in May!!) but the hotel took care of our wet clothes (they have an excellent drying room) and clubs (stored inside in a well ventilated store room) which was a great help.
The staff are all friendly and helpful, from the owner to the reception and waiting staff.
We booked a Dinner/Bed & Breakfast package; the food was varied, plentiful and good quality and the drinks were reasonably priced. The service was first class.
The rooms are what you would expect of a three star hotel - comfortable and well furnished. It's difficult to fault this hotel on the evidence of our visit.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley2rise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.7 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing