We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Treated ourselves to 3 day break on the strength of friends experience. We were not disappointed ,from arrival to departure we were treated perfectly . The hotel sits in lovely grounds and very well attended gardens. Nothing was to much trouble to the staff who carried out their duties to the max.The room was spacious , which looked west out to the Firth of Clyde and gardens , just a short walk from 2 golf courses. The breakfasts were excellent as was the evening dining experience. Quality food well prepared and presented by well trained staff. A special mention must go to all the staff and management for delivering a first class stay and one we will do again in not the too distant future.

Room Tip: No 1 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnicol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your short break with us. It's such a lovely compliment to hear you found the staff to be extremely helpful. I'm glad you enjoyed the traditional cooked Scottish breakfasts and your dinner in our award winning Tapestry Restaurant. Our gardeners will also be most pleased to hear you appreciate their hard work. We look forward to welcome you to Lochgreen House Hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had the pleasure to eat & stay at Lochgreen and i have to say that the food was excellent, staff very courteous and helpful.
The rooms were well proportioned and tastefully decorated and the hotel grounds were kept in immaculate condition.
It you want to surprise a loved one with an overnight stay with excellent food then it's the place to book.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_Love_Food_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. Your comments will act as encouragement to the team who constantly strive to make every guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope to welcome you at Lochgreen House Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Attended family wedding at hotel saturday, all i can say from start to finish it was fantastic
From entering reception a lovely warm welcome from robbie.
Staff all friendly especially both boys behind the function rm bar! Think one was called adam, drink service was very fast.
Food was lovely everyone commented on it.
The organisation of the days running was excellent so i just like to also say jaclyn the co-ordinator well done, also hotel manager craig harvey thank you for a lovely day all your staff done you proud

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Spritser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Having read your review it was firstly great to hear you had enjoyed the wedding you attended and secondly that you chose to single out certain individuals for added praise. On behalf of them and everyone else at Lochgreen we would like to thank you and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is such a lovely place.
We were privilaged to share in our friend's daughter's wedding here and it was simply the most perfect day.
We have had the pleasure of eating at Lochgreen on a number of occasions but this is the first time we have stayed overnight and it was truly fabulous.
The food was exceptional as always.
The location is outstanding and the hotel itself is so beautiful. The room was tastelfully decorated, extremely spacious and well equiped and this coupled with delightful, friendly staff made this an experience not to be forgotten.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weecat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

It's so good to hear you are continuing to enjoy your experience of Lochgreen House Hotel. On behalf of the staff we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just had my daughters wedding here on the 17/8/2012. What a beautiful hotel to have a wedding at. Everything went perfectly on the day. The meal was wonderful, and the staff very helpful. The rooms are fantastic, with views over the golf course, and some have balconies. .

Room Tip: Pick an room in the new wing with views over the Royal Troon Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon_the_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us I hope to welcome you back to Lochgreen in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and myself were invited to a wedding reception at this hotel. We decided that we would book and stay overnight. This was our first time at this hotel and we were delighted with it. Check in was quick and easy, we arrived at 12.20pm and to our surprise our room was ready for us. It was an excellent size, well furnished and in good decorative order with terrific views. The bathroom was huge with free standing bath, shower etc. No complaints at all with the room. The service throughout the wedding reception was excellent, as was the meal. The staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast again was excellent, no complaints there at all, good selection of food to choose from. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would recommend it. Location of hotel is good for anyone wanting a golfing holiday as it's only around 2 miles away from the golf course. I know this hotel is rated as a 5*, but we have stayed in a 5* in Mayfair in London and if I am truthful, the Lochgreen is nowhere near the standard of the 5* in Mayfair, but in fairness they are different types of hotels. I would say that the Lochgreen in a Traditional Scottish Hotel. Because we were part of a wedding party we got bed and breakfast for £150, think it would normally be around £175. I have read one or two of the other reviews and I noted that a couple of reviewers would not have given it 5* rating. Think I would rate it as a very good 4*, But this is definitely a lovely venue for a wedding.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26, has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you so much for the kind comments about Lochgreen House Hotel. We take great pride in delivering an excellent standard of service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have known Lochgreen since it first opened and if anything it goes from strength to strength - and from a very high standard to start with. Ayrshire is very well served for excellent restaurants but Lochgreen heads the league. We had an anniversary lunch there recently and the food was quite exceptional even although the restaurant was almost deserted - there is also an excellent coffee shop in the hotel which was very busy and there was also a private party in a separate dining room. We are talking of Michelin star quality here - but without the pretentiousness. Locally sourced ingredients and a dedication to good cooking with friendly service without being obtrusive. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigHarvie, Operations Manager at Lochgreen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Having read your review it's nice to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Lochgreen. We as a team strive to deliver a high quality of service along side an exceptionally high quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you at Lochgreen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: £217 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing