We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The staff are always welcoming and efficient .and the rooms first class.prices very fair compared to lower grade hotels south of the border.
Quality haven puts you in the right mood for business.ps the shower in room 30 is much better force than some of the others.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    88
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
111
218
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at the Lochgreen Hotel prior to a family wedding. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and felt luxuriant in a definite Scottish baronial style. The rest of the hotel, including the restaurant, was of a similar high standard.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to stay in the area wanting a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I attended lochgreen in march for my dad's wedding and brought my mum for lunch in December and both times it was brilliant. The wedding was well looked after by the mc and the staff very helpful. When I brought my mum for lunch the food and service were both exquisite indeed. On both occasions the young manager craig was very helpful.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Funaki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Yet again I was welcomed most warmly by all the staff, despite the fact that I was later than intended checking in - it was no trouble to arrange a table for dinner, literally at 5 minutes notice. Dinner was delicious, and the chef accommodated my food allergies perfectly. The care and attention here is second to none, and nothing was too much trouble. I had my "usual" room, with a very comfortable bed and a magnificent bathroom. I met many friends from previous Hogmanay parties, so there was an element of "coming home". Hogmanay dinner was wonderful - the beef was so tender it was like cutting through softened butter and the taste was devine. A couple, new to the celebrations, were very impressed by the round tables enabling them to mix and get to know other revellers, and so it was a brilliant way to greet 2014. Needless to say, I have already booked for next year!!! All the best for 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbrown2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was suggested to us and my wife and I visited mid December. This is an excellent hotel and offers all one expects of a top class country house hotel. Comfortable lounges to enjoy chat and coffee and a little but very interesting gift shop. The bedrooms were spacious, well furnished and spotless, complemented with an equally spacious bathroom
The restaurant was easily three rosette standard - a superb dinner was enjoyed by us both - and the wine list is not over the top
The only grouse we would have was at breakfast where we found the service not as attentive as we would expect - for instance both our orders were wrong and the service a bit laid back.
Above said - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Lochgreen House hotel on many ocassions. On each ocassion, we say the meals we enjoyed were the best ever, however, they just keep getting better and better. The hotel has such a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

The staff are all lovely and so helpful and attentive. I am gluten intolerant and it is never an issue with the Restaurant staff, who consistently impress me with delicious food. The rooms are excellent and absolutely spotless. The hotel grounds are always stunning.

My sisters and sister in law & I enjoyed a ladies festive sparkle night and each of them commented how wonderful it was.

We cannot wait to retun once again to Lochgreen House hotel in the New year.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottersGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Loch green never fails to impress. The spa is amazing, as is the afternoon lunch you can get afterwards. The rooms are huge and beautiful. They are absolutely spotless. The baths are massive and so relaxing. The 5 course dinner is lovely, always a good choice on the menu and food is always beautiful. The staff are ever so polite and always consider your needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is simply wonderful and I will return to it as many times as I can.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
2.2 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Property: Lochgreen House Hotel
Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing