We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
124
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Unexpected trip to Troon resulted in last minute booking and stay at Lochgreen. All staff very friendly, understanding and helpful. Always a good sign reception staff know guests by name. Also excellent breakfast and lovely grounds. Visible signs of housekeeping everywhere. Only negative is that decor could do with updating. Comfortable bed and very quiet overnight even although there was a wedding taking place.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a birthday lunch here for our mother and it was a great success. The staff could not have been more considerate and helpful and the surroundings were comfortable and spacious. The food was good and the menu varied enough that everyone, including vegetarians, could be happy. The dining room is light and airy, quite traditional and old fashioned, but the table settings were immaculate and the waiters smart and gracious. Our only complaint was the music that was playing constantly, which was inappropriate in our opinion for a dining room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just enjoyed a quick one night stay at the Lochgreen – we celebrated our 2nd anniversary having married there 2 years prior. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Honeymoon suite (same room we were in 2 years ago) which I thought was a lovely touch. I think it’s says an awful lot when you recognise the majority of staff faces from two years ago – they are happy doing their jobs, very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was huge compared to other hotel rooms and very comfortable we were in Room 37 with a private terrace. We had a really relaxing time here with just the two of us leaving an 8 month old baby behind – we had a chilled out drink in the bar pre dinner (bar staff very attentive) and then went for dinner in the evening – the staff were lovely in the restaurant and knowledgeable and although we had an overnight package that included dinner we would not hesitate to pay the full rate for dinner as it was excellent. I would like to return even if we couldn’t stay overnight but for the Sunday lunch or afternoon tea and the hotel was really busy with other patrons which again speaks volumes. The night before we arrived I noted a previous review on the wifi/net access – this was a problem but I think there must be a good reason (Older walls) although I did see boosters in the hall? As someone that works 7 days a week juggling a job and a very busy business that relies on net access for clients to stay in touch, it didn’t impact on my stay and maybe in a way it kind of forced me to relax  It seemed to be the Lochgreen is as popular as every and I really do believe this is down to their staff – It’s just a relaxing hotel with lovely grounds and in a great location – who could say no!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - if having dinner try the Blue Murder cheese created by Alex James its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Lochgreen House to attend a family wedding which was being held there. When we arrived we were very impressed by the overall look and feel of the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff. It was clear that a lot of thought had gone into making a guest's stay as pleasant as possible. However it became apparent that the facilities and general way of doing things at the hotel had not been updated for some time. The beds were so old that the individual mattress springs could be felt through the mattress topper the hotel use - not at all comfortable. The lift broke during our stay and was out of action for some time which left my 90 year old grandparents having to climb the stairs to their room. There were old stains on ceilings which had not been painted over, the hotel iron available for guest's use is so old that most of the functions don't work. The plumbing also seems to be rather haphazard - water pressure and temperature vary wildly, taps stop running within 5 seconds of being turned on, and another of our party woke up to no hot water one morning. We also found the hotel practice of leaving unused rooms unlocked on a (difficult to locate) latch very odd - this means that when you first move into your room it may take you a while to realise that your room is not locked when you leave it - raising the obvious concerns about security of your belongings. Every single family member who stayed at Lochgreen House encountered the same difficulty in discovering how to lock their room so I cannot think that we were a one off example. Finally I did find it very strange that there was absolutely no internet provision in a hotel of this stature (and cost), particularly when they are located in an area of very poor signal - if you have any desire for even limited contact with the outside world during your stay, don't stay at Lochgreen House.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Kerida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We treated ourselves to an overnight with afternoon tea.

The setting is always nice and very relaxing and the food never disappoints.

The staff were great and we ended up spending a wet afternoon in the lounge enjoying the excellent wine and champagne.

The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Very relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough to make you feel at home.

We had an overnight before when a wedding was on at the same time and it wasn't just as good so may be worth checking if this is the case before booking as staff were thinner on the ground and breakfast was very busy with lots of things running out.

On this occasion though it was great and we had a very relaxing morning with breakfast and the Sunday papers looking out over the gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked at the very last minute for a two night stay at Lochgreen from the minute we arrived and until we left we received the most incredible customer service ever experienced ( and we have stayed in some really nice places). All of the staff appeared to take a huge pride in their work and are a real credit to this Hotel. The owners are extremely lucky.

We stayed in a double room in the new part of the hotel (No 23) which was huge, massive amount of storage, sky TV and a bathroom big enough to hold a dance in.

We ate in the restaurant and the food and service was outstanding. The staff at Lochgreen could teach some 5* establishments a few things on how to treat the paying customer. We had a selection of cheese from the trolly and the staff member took at least 5 minutes to explain the taste, type and origin of every cheese on offer. Just amazing.

Our room and in fact the entire hotel was immaculate the cleaning staff do an incredible job.

During our stay there was a wedding in the function room which did not detract in any way from our stay.

This is a must place to stay for anyone coming to Ayrshire. We will be back at some point.

Well done and thank you Lochgreen.




Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

An elegant yet very welcoming hotel with friendly, attentive staff, a relaxed atmosphere and lovely food. They have the ability to give each guest personal attention no matter how busy they are and, despite having a large wedding plus a fully booked dining room, the food was excellent and the bedrooms quiet. A beautiful location and, after you enjoy a brisk walk in the sea air, a warm log fire awaits on your return. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range: £217 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing