We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience. ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochgreen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lochgreen House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience. ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left first class.Was there 2 nights for a wedding.The hotel is absolutely luxurious. The staff are friendly and always happy to go the extra mile for you.The day of the wedding was superb. Food was excellent. The grounds and surroundings first rate.Will definitely be returning. Thanks for everything. ......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    84
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
102
202
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Our first visit to this exquisite venue for lunch which boasts stunning grounds, great location and first class service. The food is incredible, reasonably priced with a friendly ambience and attentive staff. We will be back again and again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently attended an extended family lunch for ten at Lochgreen. The overall ambience of the public areas was good and the staff were attentive. A number of the party are vegetarian and the limited range of such options was disappointing. The food, which whilst being adequate, was underwhelming and failed to inspire with flavour or sophistication. Soup and main courses were found by the majority to be overpoweringly salty. Overall however it was an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a fantastic hotel this was, probably one of the best I have stayed in. From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly and could not do enough to help us. The bedroom was huge, with a sea view, and when the sun shone, the view was spectacular. The bedroom had a large flat screen TV with Sky Sports, and the bed was so big and comfortable. The spacious bathroom had a shower cubicle, a separate bath, a sink and even a bidet!
We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, as we had heard about the AA Red Rosettes. Our dinners were just out of this world, with so many different flavours combining to create an outstanding gourmet experience. Breakfast was also delicious and the service at dinner and at breakfast just could not be faulted.
Located in its own grounds, the hotel was peaceful, and well placed for visiting Troon, Ayr, Alloway and even Dumfries House!
We loved this place and will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamTarts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently stayed for one night dinner, bed and breakfast thoroughly spoilt. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The surroundings were and atmosphere were perfect. Food was amazing. All in all would recommend for a relaxing break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ihave just returned from Loch Green where my best friend had her wedding.

The whole wedding party had a wonderful time and were well looked after. The food was delicious and we partied the night away until past 4.30am! The bars were very chilled and relaxed even in the small hours of the morning.

The room were fantastic, my boyfriend checked in before me and text to tell me it was 'the best hotel room EVER'.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and brought to everyone quite quickly in a nice room with most of the quests who had stayed overnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely. The bedrooms and bathrooms are huge. We had a lovely room with sea views. My husband stays regularly for business and I came along for a few days and it was luxury. Staff so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are lovely, most amazing poached eggs. Lovely breads and croissants.
I had afternoon tea. The nicest quiche and sausage roll I have ever had and I have had a lot! Lovely sandwiches and cakes too.
The resturant food is top end. The waiters are lovely. One even took our baby for a walk so we could eat in peace. Grounds are immaculate.
Only down side is the rooms a little cool.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank latham_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Property: Lochgreen House Hotel
Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Troon
#2 Family Hotel in Troon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing