We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the expense”
Review of Glenapp Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenapp Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had two nights at Glenapp on the recommendation of a friend . Very attractive setting and nice large rooms .
We had dinner in the Michelin star restaurant ( no prices on Menu for dinner ) . Dinner was pleasant but certainly not outstanding. Staff helpful ,breakfast pleasant .
Everything was extra.Free overnight shoe cleaning that did not happen,Tea delivered to the rooms extra charge , After dinner drinks twice the price of the Hotel Du Vin in Glasgow.
We had a French waiter straight out of Tv comedy show which was most amusing
A lot of show but no substance .
Disappointing to say the least

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We've been going to Glenapp Castle for 7 years. We've stayed as a
couple, as part of a large group and we stay regularly as a family.
Our experience is always the same. Faultless.

I'm not going to write a long review here because it doesn't need it.
In fact, this is the first review I've ever written for
anywhere.....and I'm pretty well travelled.

Glenapp Castle is a magical escapism. The accommodation is classic and
spotless. The service and attention to detail is beyond exceptional.
The food is outstanding. Over the years, I have never become bored
with staying here. Every visit is different. Each meal is incredible.
Each stay becomes more special than the last.

Individual needs are catered for. This is truly an individual 5 star
retreat. I use the word retreat. It's another world as soon as you
disappear behind the gates. It's not a "resort". If you want a flashy
big resort style 5 star hotel....this isn't for you. This is 5 star indulgence for
those who prefer quality over quantity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I arranged a night here for my husband's 40th Birthday and I cannot rate this whole experience highly enough. I am a fussy traveller and expect high standards so for Glenapp to impress is no small undertaking! Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The entrance is signposted but very minimal so as to keep a private, secluded feel. The drive to the castle is impressive and you are spoilt from the moment you step out of your car. We were shown to our suite with a private turret for entrance/exit. The bathroom was an incredible size with a claw foot bath (a personal favourite) and the most luxurious Penhaligon toiletries. We had a birthday cake delivered to the suite and the 2 members of staff sang happy birthday to my husband!
We went down to dinner at the time arranged and found a birthday card from Mr and Mrs Cowan (owners of this beautiful retreat) on our table. The food was out of this world; tied with the staff's knowledge of food and wine it was a pure delight! The chef even piped a happy 40th message on my husband's plate.
Every little touch made this break wonderful. The staff are amazing, housekeeping are incredibly fast at tidying up, closing the numerous curtains etc. This is well worth every penny and we will most definitely be returning at some point! Many thanks to all involved in making our break so special!

Room Tip: The Earl of Inchcape suite is a must as it has panoramic views of the magnificent gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The entrance gate is very low key with minimal signage which really does stop tourists simply wandering around and spoiling the private atmosphere for the guests; a very good idea and once you are at the end of the mile or so long drive you really do feel as if you’re on your own estate.

I was welcomed at the door and signed the old fashioned guestbook with a fountain pen (a very nice touch) and the staff helped carry my cases to my room. I was staying in Knockdolian which has a handy entrance of its own just off of the car park (as well as the internal one). The room itself was large, and furnished very comfortably with some antique pieces of furniture as well as lots of soft furnishings and an old brass four poster bed. The bathroom was also a very good size and in a similar period style. It really suited the setting perfectly. My only gripe would be not having a blackout lined curtain on one of the small slit windows when all of the other curtains were fully lined (this omission more or less renders all that effort and thoughtfulness defunct). There was a silk flower arrangement in the room; flowers should always be fresh. There was also an orchid that had finished flowering – the orchids in guests’ rooms should always be in bloom. I must stress that these are petty points, but for the prices charged, attention to detail is key. The most offensive items, however, were two ornaments by Lladro – utterly tasteless, not in keeping and should be removed (or destroyed!!). All this said, it was a wonderfully cosy room and the gas fireplace in the seating area added to the warm atmosphere.

The grounds of the castle are worth a mention in their own right. Magnificent mature rhododendron plants were plentiful throughout, and there were formal areas, “natural” areas, a large pond, and a walled garden. They were well maintained, and like the rest of the property had a real charm to them. The castle itself is atop a hill and has marvellous views out to the sea and islands beyond.

A late cream tea (spontaneous on my part rather than by prior arrangement) was a little disappointing as the tea wasn’t loose leaf and the scones had been microwaved to warm them and were nothing special. No tragedy, but at this level, every aspect should be close to perfection.

The six course dinner menu was awaited with much anticipation on my part, and I was not disappointed. They were very flexible with swapping out courses to suit my likes and dislikes perfectly, which was very much appreciated. The dishes were beautifully presented and well conceived, certainly worthy of its 1 star (albeit under a different head chef) status. They even had a cheese menu comprising a couple of dozen Scottish cheeses, which was a delight both to eat and to have such a wide selection to choose from. The service whilst formal and slick wasn’t stiff or starchy and all of the staff were very charming and friendly. It really was a most enjoyable dinner.

Breakfast was on a far lower level when compared to the previous night’s dinner. It felt terribly English (in the worst sense of the word) and old fashioned. The portions for the cooked breakfast were small (although they were more than happy to provide another teaspoon sized portion of mushrooms…) and the choice very traditional. The quality was good, although the vienoisserie tasted reheated from frozen rather than homemade. For this price point, breakfast should be something considerably more memorable. All of the other guests seemed to be enjoying it, so perhaps part of this is down to personal taste too.

Glenapp is a delightful place to spend a night or two and indulge in a fine dinner in country house surroundings with an almost house party atmosphere. With a little more attention to the finer details, Glenapp would really be a perfect example of its type.

Room Tip: It is worth taking the time to read about the features of each room so that you can choose one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

wonderfully generous room with all the required toys. sensational dinner and breakfast. cannot think of how to improve this establishemnt. finding it can be a challenge so take advice from the hotel before arriving.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Lovely hotel which feels like a private home. Glorious setting, huge, beautiful room and great food. The staff were simply outstanding - some of the best service I've come across in a hotel anywhere in the world. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ink P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The gourmet dinner was fabulous. the service was excellent. But our overriding memory is of our room - which was desperately in need of redecoration. Having paid £505 pound for 1 night, we expected excellence and received in overall terms, a shabby deal.
We would not return

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tarahyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballantrae
8.7 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
17.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
344 reviews
12.5 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
470 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
549 reviews
17.1 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenapp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenapp Castle

Address: Ballantrae KA26 0NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballantrae
Price Range: £235 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenapp Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scots Baronial castle set in 36 acres of stunning gardens and woodland overlooking the Ayrshire coastline and out to Ailsa Craig, the Isle of Arran and Mull of Kintyre. The castle is Scotland's highest rated Country House Hotel with 5 AA Red Stars and 4 AA Rosettes, 5 VisitScotland Gold Stars, EatScotland Gold Award and a Michelin Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glenapp Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenapp Castle Ballantrae, Scotland
Glenapp Castle Hotel Ballantrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing