We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hospitality I have ever received!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosses Country House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ballantrae B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2010

As bridesmaid for my best friend's wedding, I wanted to give her a hen weekend to remember. When she mentioned she had never been to Scotland before, it seemed like the perfect place. We took a group of eight ladies (all ages) up to Susan's beautiful luxury guest house near Ballantrae in South West Scotland and it was a weekend to remember. Friday night Susan and her husband Robin greeted us with a five star meal to remember, with the dining room being set for the eight of us. Friday night we had wine tasting then Saturday we spent the day climbing the volcanic lump of rock in the sea - Ailsa Craig - an hour's boat trip away. Saturday night was fun and games in Susan's games room listening to fabulous seventies hits on the juke box, then Sunday we went to Glenapp - the local castle, for afternoon tea and a walk around the gardens. We didn't even have time to visit the local spa!! It was a fabulous adventure weekend with memories we will all treasure forever. If you want an alternative hen weekend, this is the place!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineTinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

Arranging a hen party for my best friend, I didn't want a typical drunken city weekend so decided to go for this beautiful country retreat in South-West Scotland. It was a luxurious adventure weekend with fantastic cooking, a boat trip out to an island, a rocky climb, afternoon tea at a michelin starred castle and the best hospitality I have ever received. The memories of our stay will remain with us for years and years to come, and I'm sure we will all be visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissytinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My wife and I have just spent the most delightful weekend break at Cosses Country House which is at Ballantrae, South West Scotland,
Our hosts Susan & Robin Crosthwaite were both friendly and attentive, and offer a high standard of accomodation with food to die for .
On our arrival at the Country House, which stands in 12 acres of land in a charming valley, we recieved a pleasant greeting ,followed by a tour of the premises and lovely gardens,and later after a pre dinner drink, we were treated to a superb meal,with the vegatables fresh from the kitchen garden.Our breakfast included home made bread, fresh fruit from the garden ,homemade cakes and biscuits,
If you are looking for high quality accomodation,with top class food and wine , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexTansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Set in an idyllic location on the West coast of Scotland this Bed and Breakfast is a real find. We were greeted at the door by Susan Crosthwaite and her labradors and we knew then that this was a great find. The gardens are beautiful and the walks from the cottages are breath taking where you can look out to sea and Ailsa Craig.
The food was exceptionally good, enjoying local and home grown produce. As Susan cooks superb evening meals it is a shame to call this just a Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed a full Scottish breakfast outside and superb evening meals in the house (accompanied by a bottle of 'something good' from the extensive wine list!). The home made lemon cake for tea was delicious - the hospitlity was endless.
The location is great to use as a base or as a stop over if travelling further north to the lochs.
Driving towards Ayr you can find the electric brae optical illusion were your car appears to roll dowhill even though you are actually going up hill - great fun.
Overall a must.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smiles_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mirjam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Suite hatte ein geräumiges Schlafzimmer , Bad, Flur und ein Wohnzimmer mit Kamin und war liebevo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marouine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveanalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cosses Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosses Country House

Address: Ballantare | Girvan, Ballantrae KA26 0LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ballantrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballantrae
Price Range: £80 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosses Country House is a small boutique hotel/Luxury Bed and Breakfast in the beautiful South West of Scotland. A member of Wolsey Lodges, Cosses offers guests luxurious dinner, bed and breakfast in wonderful surroundings, 2 miles south of the fishing village of Ballantrae, in Ayrshire. Local Food Hero Award winner Susan Crosthwaite creates Gastronomic delights from the best of local, Scottish produce, home grown vegetables, fruit and herbs from the kitchen garden, local reared meat, game, cheese and freshly caught seafood. Licensed with excellent wine and whisky list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cosses Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosses Country House Ballantrae, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing