We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“16 Kirkwood Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holiday Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Arcade - 5 minutes walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AJ S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“16 Kirkwood Place ”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage. Cosy yet spacious. Lovely amenities. It's such a shame the previous tenants broke a window and the hob. But we were not put off. The owner even let us check in earlier which was great after a 6 hour straight drive. The beach was a stones throw away. Just perfect. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage but some issues”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Nicely furnished cosy cottage but a few problems. Two of the 3 bedrooms had cheap uncomfortable mattresses with springs sticking up. The floor plan had showed 3 double beds, but there were only two, with a single bedroom and a fold down bed in one of the bedrooms. There was NO banister on the staircase which was open towards the bottom. Very unsafe especially for children and older people (my sister actually fell down 4/5 stairs) Fire alarms were fitted but no fire blanket or extinguisher. Fancy Smart TV in the lounge but you couldn't attach the DVD player to it so no films or CDs could be played. The kitchen was fairly well equiped but there was no tin opener or bottle opener. When I booked the cottage, it said there were sea views. There aren't, only views of some grotty lock ups. The only way to get a glimpse of the sea was out of a velux window in one of the bedrooms. Disappointing as that was one of the reasons I chose it. I was told I would have my housekeeping deposit returned by September 14th. I received an email on 14th saying it could take 7-10 days for it to arrive.Sorry but all in all a somewhat disappointing experience and not particularly good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Mattresses and bed linen which I'm not convinced was freshly laundered
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thanks Christine,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the property. We were saddened to hear the negative parts of your review and anything we can put right we have.
Our description of the cottage states the size of each bed in each room, the floor plan is just a guide. We did think that 2 double beds and one single bed would have been adequate for 3 guests; we have since replaced the 2 mattresses mentioned. The description never mentions sea views even though you are 50 metres from the sea (meaning the ones you have in both bedrooms are actually a bonus). The Edwardian style houses on the sea front cant be moved so sadly the sea views we cant improve - to stay in these houses we would have been charging alot more than around the £20 pppn that you paid (which is cheaper than many city hostels) so I am unsure how cheap it has to be for you to get 'value for money'
With regard to fire blankets and extinguishers - certain hotel requirements arent kept to as it is a home and as such there is no need for them. There was no banister due to size of the stairs and the walls either side and for 3 adult guests we would expect stair climbing to be a given but we have recently added railings inkeeping with the rest of the cottage.
The 4K HD TV in the lounge is the only one of the 4 TVs in the cottage that doesn't accept a Scart but can access the internet as well as NetFlix which was signed into on our personal account for your full stay.
The tin opener has been an overlook on our part and for that I apologise but could have easily raced to the cottage with one in an emergency.
Tripadvisor deal directly with Security deposits so I suggest you give them direct feedback for any issues there.
Overall we feel that your lack of communication throughout your stay has led to you having a negative experience and we are truly sad for that. Had you asked advice about anything or even returned the emails we sent including having the courtesy of letting us know when you had checked out we would have solved any issues you had. Instead we were left with having to reply somewhat distastefully to this poor review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holiday by the sea”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at this cottage 2x this year loved it 2 min walk from beach which is great for kids and adults alike lol gd alround holiday cozy cottage and will definitely be back next year with my family

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing