We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Southfield Hotel

Southfield Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and myself had the unfortunate experience of staying here for two nights on arriving our first thought was to find somewhere else so we left our bags and tried everywhere we could but everywhere was fully booked. We were the only ones staying at this "hotel". The bathroom was filthy it had some very suspect marks on the tiles and the towels were damp and dirty. The room itself was covered in dust and spider webs and the sheets had blood on them. The tv had one working channel and all the milk was out of date for the tea,coffee making facilities. The breakfast although freshly cooked was spoiled by the dirty cutlery and the table that was so sticky when you tried to lift your glass you almost had to lift the table. On checking out when we brouht all this to the attention of Sandra the owner she got very mad and instead of an apology she charged us £20 more than agreed when booking !

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robbiem1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 132 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I went with a friend to this establishment last year. She had stayed there for several months when the house she owned had been made uninhabitable as a result of a fire. Sue is a very well travelled lady and I get on well with her.

There was no one else in the restaurant when we visited it. Service was , in a word , haphazard . Wrong cutlery , lack of condiments , blah blah blah .
Having said that the food was wholesome and tasty.

The place lacked atmosphere but we had a good time and a good laugh at the inadequacies of the service provided.

Just before Christmas 2010 I sent the hotel an email enquiring about accomodation . I am STILL waiting for a reply

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gingerrover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Contrary to the website's description, the bar and restaurant have both closed. Decor and rooms are fine, though not roomy. Breakfast food was of a good quality. Extra biscuits and coffee were available on the landing, so room's tea-making facilities are good. Beds were comfortable.
But room and bathroom were not cleaned during our 3 nights' stay, beds were not made, towels not folded. Thick dust lurked behind the bed. Landlady said she did not offer any services apart from cleaning cups (not always done, though) and replacing soiled towels in the shower (again, not done during our stay). Breakfast was served with good spirit by a helpful young man, but it was very disorganised - we had to ask for a spoon, then a glass, then a dish. There was no system. When we complained, the landlady gave no concessions, asserting she can't offer service 24/7, we're expecting too much. We only wanted what is a normal standad in B&Bs everywhere else. Having said that, it would have been fine for one night - we wouldn't have noticed the shortcomings apart from the quirks of the breakfast settings!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidiandiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryrudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
466 reviews
4.8 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
141 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
20.3 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
12.2 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfield Hotel

Address: 18 The Avenue, Girvan KA26 9DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southfield Hotel Girvan, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing